See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Locking Viewports

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Olympia, Washington, U.S.A.
    Posts
    359
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Locking Viewports

    there is a sysvar that i can't remember that locks the viewports and will not let you get inside them. Can anybody remember what that variable is. i want to try to create a toggle so when i'm Annotating i can click and go. help with the code would be appreciated also.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    Albania
    Posts
    423
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigliano70 View Post
    there is a sysvar that i can't remember that locks the viewports and will not let you get inside them. Can anybody remember what that variable is. i want to try to create a toggle so when i'm Annotating i can click and go. help with the code would be appreciated also.

    Maybe this will help.You should see an information in this web:
    http://www.ccadinc.com/tips/viewports.html

  3. #3
    100 Club Brian Benton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-06
    Location
    at home
    Posts
    183
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    You can lock viewports through the properties panel, or by right-clicking and select the lock view ports option. But I don't know the system variable.
    "Do or do not. There is no try."
    --Master Yoda--

    http://CADaBlog.com/
    www.twitter.com/bcbenton
    www.facebook.com/CADaBlog

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    Quote Originally Posted by Arben.Allaraj View Post
    Maybe this will help.You should see an information in this web:
    http://www.ccadinc.com/tips/viewports.html
    Quote Originally Posted by bbenton.91765 View Post
    You can lock viewports through the properties panel, or by right-clicking and select the lock view ports option. But I don't know the system variable.
    I could be wrong but I really don't think that's what the OP is asking about. I think he wants to be unable to enter a vport not just unable to zoom and pan within it.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Olympia, Washington, U.S.A.
    Posts
    359
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    I could be wrong but I really don't think that's what the OP is asking about. I think he wants to be unable to enter a vport not just unable to zoom and pan within it.

    Right Jaber, thanks

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Olympia, Washington, U.S.A.
    Posts
    359
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    I found the answer to my own question.
    SPACESWITCH = 0

    it disables the ability to double click in the viewport so you don't accidentally do it while annotating. such as, when you double click on MTEXT and find yourself in model space.

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,194
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigliano70 View Post
    I found the answer to my own question.
    SPACESWITCH = 0

    it disables the ability to double click in the viewport so you don't accidentally do it while annotating. such as, when you double click on MTEXT and find yourself in model space.
    Undocumented, I have learned something new today, I am going home.
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    Autodesk Expert Elite
    AEC Collection Civil 3D 2020
    Windows 10

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Olympia, Washington, U.S.A.
    Posts
    359
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill View Post
    Undocumented, I have learned something new today, I am going home.
    LOL, thanks again for the help.

  9. #9
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigliano70 View Post
    I found the answer to my own question.
    SPACESWITCH = 0

    it disables the ability to double click in the viewport so you don't accidentally do it while annotating. such as, when you double click on MTEXT and find yourself in model space.
    Nice find.

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill View Post
    Undocumented, I have learned something new today, I am going home.
    Same here, except I am home.

    BTW - it works in A2008 also but is undocumented.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  10. #10
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,194
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Locking Viewports

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    Nice find.



    Same here, except I am home.

    BTW - it works in A2008 also but is undocumented.
    according to www.hyperpics.com, it has been around since 2000i
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    Autodesk Expert Elite
    AEC Collection Civil 3D 2020
    Windows 10

Similar Threads

  1. Locking Viewports
    By Cad4men in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 2011-06-20, 02:49 PM
  2. Locking Viewports
    By Mufasa23 in forum AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 2009-03-02, 07:43 PM
  3. Locking Viewports
    By dphillips.115498 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-11-20, 12:44 PM
  4. locking display on polygonal viewports
    By cwjean76 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2008-01-29, 09:03 PM
  5. Selecting smaller viewports within larger viewports
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-09-22, 01:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •