Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Land 2008 a Land 2006

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy Land 2008 a Land 2006

    Hello to all as I do to be able to see my done project in Land Desktop 2008 engraving in version 2004, in a plots that has Land 2006, I open my project but me does not charge ningun menu, it leaves me sgte:

    ***************************************************
    Autodesk Land Desktop cannot initialize because this
    drawing contains objects from a newer version.
    Refer to the readme file for more information on this issue.
    ***************************************************

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    100 Club Aquaserpent's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    174
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Land 2008 a Land 2006

    One important rule about software you are ignoring is: you can go forwards, but never backwards. Once you save in 2008 you should not go back to 2004 or 2006.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    31
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Land 2008 a Land 2006

    If for any reason you have to go back to an earlier version of AutoCAD (for example, sending a file to a client or project co-contributor), you need to 'save-down' the file. If you do this using the "Save As" command, you get the option to save into a previous drawing formats, as well as other file type. It is important to note, however, that doing so does not save Land Desktop objects (such as points, contours, and arc-aligned text, to name a few) as older-format Land Desktop objects. Hence the message. You can get around this by exploding all Land Desktop objects before 'saving down' your drawing, because if you miss any, you will be unable to open the drawing in an earlier format

    There is a way around this, however. In Land Desktop 2008, you have the option to "Export to AutocAD" (_AeccExportToAutoCAD2004 or _AeccExportToAutoCAD2000 at the command line). This command converts Land Desktop objects into objects that are recognizable in earlier version of AutoCAD, such as blocks and polylines. Note that you can only export into either the 2000 or 2004 platform. You also don't have to worry about overwriting your drawing file using this command, because it created a new file, by appending "ACAD-" to the file existing file name.

  4. #4
    Member DB4-LYF's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri
    Posts
    20
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Cool Re: Land 2008 a Land 2006

    Always use export to autocad not saveas........

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2006-07
    Location
    Indian Trail, NC
    Posts
    57
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Land 2008 a Land 2006

    Quote Originally Posted by DB4-LYF View Post
    Always use export to autocad not saveas........
    I agree with DB4-LYF. When I've used the "save as" to 2004, when people who use LDD 2005 open it, at the very least it has tons of error messages and LDD won't initialize, or, it just crashes and won't open.

    If I take the exact same file and do the "Export to AutoCAD 2004" everything works fine with no errors.

    Also, in the past I like to use the Batch Drawing Convertor (or whatever it's called now) to convert drawings, but ever since 2008 it doesn't work at all. Oddly enough, it worked fine after the 2007 update, but quit working with 2008 even though the file save format is the same. Go figure.
    Last edited by moseeng; 2008-07-28 at 06:47 PM. Reason: Spelling

Similar Threads

  1. Land DT 2008 not Compatible w/ Land 2006 ?. wtf
    By mlclodfe in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-06-11, 07:20 PM
  2. Land 2008 a Land 2006
    By rcruz30 in forum Español - AutoCAD Land Desktop
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-05-18, 12:20 AM
  3. Land 2008 a Land 2006
    By rcruz30 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Land Desktop Companion - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-04-24, 10:20 PM
  4. Land scape in Auto CAD 2006
    By abd-513 in forum AutoCAD Gallery
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-04-04, 05:12 PM
  5. Land Desktop 2006 Locking Up
    By gregory.lumpkin in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2006-02-13, 03:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •