See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2001-11
    Posts
    219
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    Sure someo0ne must have asked this question before. I don't know what exactly to search for - I could not get a good result.

    I have office layer names (with color numbers, linetype) in Excel file. I would like to transfer all the about ninety of them, straight into AutoCAD, so when I open this prototype autocad file, it will have all the layers. An option will be to input all these layer names one-by-one into the Layer Manager.

    That is, can I import the Excel file into AutoCAD (200 to show in my layer manager?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    directly? no.

    What you can do is use the XLS as the basis of a script file, or set up a LISP routine to open the data file and create layers from there. Simple way would be to write the excel out to comma delimited text, and parse that text file. Fancier would be to use VBA to read the excel file directly and populate the layers that way.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time CADDmanVA's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    881
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    I am definitely not a coding guru like cadtag, so my solution is a bit simpler. There is a utility called AutoLayer (Google it), which uses a text file to manage layer names. You can then use AutoLayer to manage and insert layers as needed. Worth the small license fee IMHO.
    I loved the NCS so much, I joined the committee!

    "Truth suffers from too much analysis"
    I remember AutoCAD R10

    When will Autodesk port AutoCAD to Linux?

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    directly? no.

    What you can do is use the XLS as the basis of a script file, or set up a LISP routine to open the data file and create layers from there. Simple way would be to write the excel out to comma delimited text, and parse that text file. Fancier would be to use VBA to read the excel file directly and populate the layers that way.
    This solution would work. Depending on how much information and the format it is in within the excel file, you can probably have most of the script written through excel with a formula in an adjacent cell.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Active Member limartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    Back in the Biz in NYC
    Posts
    80
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    I found a procedure that works quite well importing 100 plus layers into a drawing. Go to http://www.dotsoft.com/procedures.htm and look for Excel Scripting.
    In order that people may be happy in their work, these three things are needed: they must be fit for it; they must not do too much of it; and they must have a sense of success in it. -John Ruskin, author, art critic, and social reformer (1819-1900)

  6. #6
    100 Club jpduhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    this thread and this thread may help
    JP

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    You could wirte your own code, etc,.but for a really cheap price there is a product that does this, go to www.budcad.com and look for QuickLayers. I bought my 4 years ago, each update is free and it looks great - also lets you add descriptions and create new layers.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-08
    Location
    Reading, PA
    Posts
    28
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    I found a free routine that says it will do this. I have not yet tried it. I stumbled upon it when looking at cad standards. It can be found here: http://www.altivasoft.com/freedownloads/index.htm

    Hopefully this helps some

  9. #9
    100 Club tlewald's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-01
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    144
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Red face Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    Quote Originally Posted by omorah View Post
    Sure someo0ne must have asked this question before. I don't know what exactly to search for - I could not get a good result.

    I have office layer names (with color numbers, linetype) in Excel file. I would like to transfer all the about ninety of them, straight into AutoCAD, so when I open this prototype autocad file, it will have all the layers. An option will be to input all these layer names one-by-one into the Layer Manager.

    That is, can I import the Excel file into AutoCAD (200 to show in my layer manager?
    You can import the layer list directly using layer states.

    From AutoCAD, open the layer manager from one of your existing drawings, create a layer state, export it and open the .las file from windows explorer in notepad or wordpad.

    From Excel, export the file as .txt tab delineated and open in notepad or wordpad and restructure it to follow suit with the .las file previously exported. When done, save the .txt file as .las

    Go back into AutoCAD layer state manager and import your newly created .las
    I have not invented a "new style," composite, modified or otherwise that is set within distinct form as apart from "this" method or "that" method.

    On the contrary, I hope to free my followers from clinging to styles, patterns, or molds.

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time CADDmanVA's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    881
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Names In Excel Into AutoCAD 2008 Layer Manager?

    Quote Originally Posted by tlewald View Post
    You can import the layer list directly using layer states.

    From AutoCAD, open the layer manager from one of your existing drawings, create a layer state, export it and open the .las file from windows explorer in notepad or wordpad.

    From Excel, export the file as .txt tab delineated and open in notepad or wordpad and restructure it to follow suit with the .las file previously exported. When done, save the .txt file as .las

    Go back into AutoCAD layer state manager and import your newly created .las
    Very cool. I didn't know you could do that. I knew you could export/import layer states, but I didn't know that the layers could come along for the ride. That could come in handy sometime.
    I loved the NCS so much, I joined the committee!

    "Truth suffers from too much analysis"
    I remember AutoCAD R10

    When will Autodesk port AutoCAD to Linux?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Layer Manager Freezing AutoCAD C3D 2008
    By sarah.campden in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-05-26, 02:10 PM
  2. Layer Manager and AutoCAD 2008
    By slaga in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-04-29, 12:14 PM
  3. Map 3D 2006 - Layer names not showing up in Layer Manager
    By blair in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-12-07, 06:52 PM
  4. Change Layer names to other Layer names via a script?
    By tburke in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-12-04, 07:30 PM
  5. Layer Manager - Blank Layer Names
    By nelson in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-03-24, 05:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •