Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Saving as an Older Version

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Glenside, PA
    Posts
    71
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Lightbulb Saving as an Older Version

    Wouldn't it be great if we could save a 2009 model as a 2008. That way I could actualy use 2009.

  2. #2
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Saving as an Older Version

    If you created a swept-blend in a 2009 project, and then could save-as to a 2008 project, what would happen to the swept-blend? Should it be deleted? Should it be converted into a simplified shape?

    What if in your 2009 project to did a bunch of Color Fill Legends in Sections, and then could save-as to 2008? What would happen to the legends in sections?

    What if you set up all of your mental ray materials in the 2009 project and then could save as to 2008? What would happen to all of you materials?

    I could post many more examples, but I think it's clear. Save as to previous versions is just not possible in this enviroment as Revit progresses forward so quickly.
    Scott D Davis
    Sr AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

  3. #3
    100 Club troberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    167
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs down Re: Saving as an Older Version

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Davis View Post
    If you created a swept-blend in a 2009 project, and then could save-as to a 2008 project, what would happen to the swept-blend? Should it be deleted? Should it be converted into a simplified shape?

    What if in your 2009 project to did a bunch of Color Fill Legends in Sections, and then could save-as to 2008? What would happen to the legends in sections?

    What if you set up all of your mental ray materials in the 2009 project and then could save as to 2008? What would happen to all of you materials?

    I could post many more examples, but I think it's clear. Save as to previous versions is just not possible in this enviroment as Revit progresses forward so quickly.
    Oh come on now!!! The same ideas apply to AutoCAD too. All those fancy improvements are lost when you save back to 2004 or 5, or 6. We still manage to save back. It is more disheartening to know that ALL of the work you have done in 2009 must be trashed because your client has 2008. I'd rather have to go back and add a few color fill legends than have to start over.

  4. #4
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Saving as an Older Version

    Quote Originally Posted by troberts View Post
    Oh come on now!!! The same ideas apply to AutoCAD too. All those fancy improvements are lost when you save back to 2004 or 5, or 6. We still manage to save back. It is more disheartening to know that ALL of the work you have done in 2009 must be trashed because your client has 2008. I'd rather have to go back and add a few color fill legends than have to start over.
    You can't add new color fill legends in section in 2008...they don't exist. Technology must move forward, not backwards.
    Scott D Davis
    Sr AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict sfaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Littleton, CO (Denver Metro)
    Posts
    1,535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Saving as an Older Version

    I generally agree with Scott, figure out which version you are going to use, then use it for that project. BIM and Revit are much more complex than ACAD, so it's a lot harder to save back and keep any resemblance of the project. I would rather they didn't spend the development time on backward saving.

    That being said, someone posted a meathod here at one time. Export the 2009 model to IFC, then import the IFC into 2008. From my understanding it doesn't work perfectly, but you will get a majority of your model. Never tried it myself though...
    Steve

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    London NW9
    Posts
    377
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Saving as an Older Version

    Lets keep development costs clearly in 'going forward' (and obviously those long term bug/enhancement fixes we ALL ask for)

    I think Revit will be spoilt the day that possibly half the development costs go into backward compatability

  7. #7
    Active Member Peter Davies's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    64
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Saving as an Older Version

    I agree, lets keep looking forward, not back. For many years you couldn't save Autocad back either, and somehow we all got through it.

    Revit 2009 is fantastic, maybe 2010 will be perfect

  8. #8
    100 Club jsr13's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Virginia - USA
    Posts
    130
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Saving as an Older Version

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Davis View Post
    You can't add new color fill legends in section in 2008...they don't exist. Technology must move forward, not backwards.
    Tell that to a dozen or more clients! When you are a consulting structural firm, you don't make the call on when the architect upgrades.

    And so what if you save back to v2008 and lose some of the wonderful features of v2009. It is OUR project, and if we know that we'll lose some features then we can make allowances for it. "We have to save to v2008 for this project, so we can't do ________ and we'll have to do this the old way..."

    Don't you think we are mature enough to handle that end of it? Just give us the option and let US decide.

    You mention "moving forward, not backwards" in your post, but you are penalizing those of us who DID move forward. Why don't you move forward with Revit and give us the option to make our own choices?

    That being said, I do agree that the majority of the developmental money should be to move forward. I just thought your attitude of totally discounting the "saving back" process wasn't what I thought it should be. I heard from a couple of reliable sources that "Autodesk does not think Revit Structure can be profitable to small firms because of the challenges they face" working with multiple clients. Is this some evidence of that train of thought?
    Last edited by jsr13; 2008-06-21 at 06:54 PM. Reason: addition at the end
    Jeff Rayhorn

    Sinclair Pratt Cameron, P.C.
    Consulting Structural Engineers
    Virginia Beach
    Virginia, USA

  9. #9
    100 Club jsr13's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Virginia - USA
    Posts
    130
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Saving as an Older Version

    So, do you then operate with multiple versions of Revit installed on your computer?

    If so, how do you handle family creation? Do you create the family in one version, and another, and another? You would have to have different versions of all of your families saved in different locations.

    I think that sounds like a nightmare in itself. Don't you?
    Jeff Rayhorn

    Sinclair Pratt Cameron, P.C.
    Consulting Structural Engineers
    Virginia Beach
    Virginia, USA

  10. #10
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Saving as an Older Version

    Quote Originally Posted by jsr13 View Post
    When you are a consulting structural firm, you don't make the call on when the architect upgrades.
    Thats why you are a team and communicate with your consultants. If you must remain in the prior version, then all consultants must agree to remain.

    Yes, this does mean you can run versions side by side, and you may have multiple libraries. But it's really not that tought to manage as I used to do it in practice all them time. If you need a new family, build it in the older version, then open and saveas to a new library in the newer version.
    Scott D Davis
    Sr AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Saving 2014 to older version
    By trevor.hatch in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2014-02-26, 02:57 PM
  2. Commands not supported in older Cad Version
    By gthree in forum Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-25, 12:29 PM
  3. Saving to older version
    By timlane in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-03-31, 05:06 PM
  4. Slide Animations from older version
    By TobyKanoby in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-07-06, 05:27 PM
  5. Saving to an Older Acad Ver.
    By marble in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-08-04, 02:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •