See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Renaming user names

  1. #1
    100 Club Grumpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    101
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Angry Renaming user names

    I don't know if this is the right place to post this, so please move it if you need to.

    I am running Windows 2000 Professional and have AutoCAD 2005 installed which looks to the following directory for its path

    C:\Documents and Settings\DaveB.Orion\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2005\R16.1\enu\Support

    Our IT person (because of some corporate thing) came around and was renaming all the computers and user names so after she did this now the path where the ACAD.EXE file is is

    C:\Documents and Settings\USLANDABA\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2005\R16.1\enu\Support

    Now, obviously I cannot run AutoCAD because AutoCAD cannot find the correct pathing. At first when I would click the AutoCAD icon I would get a Fatal Error because of the incorrect path. Now every time I select the icon I get a "Run As" dialog box and have to type in my UserName, Password and Domain and it runs fine, but the first time I did it this way AutoCAD started and it looked like a new install and I had to reset all my settings. The IT person doesn't know how to fix it and says that I will just have to use the "Run As" dialog box from now on or uninstall and reinstall (which is a pain).

    Does anyone have any ideas?
    David B. Baker
    CAD Supervisor
    Munters Corporation, Aerotech Ventilation Systems
    Lansing, MI USA

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Renaming user names

    Changing the contents of the default ARG file to match the new pathing information.

  3. #3
    Moderator arcadia_x27's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    The 'Mill,Moncton, NB, Canada
    Posts
    516
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Renaming user names

    Uninstall and Reinstall your IT person maybe?

  4. #4
    100 Club Grumpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    101
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy Re: Renaming user names

    Quote Originally Posted by mjfarrell
    Changing the contents of the default ARG file to match the new pathing information.
    I did a search for an ARG file and did not find one. Isn't this a Profile file? I do not use a profile.

    Quote Originally Posted by arcadia_x27
    Uninstall and Reinstall your IT person maybe?
    There are times when I would like to Uninstall our IT person. She does a pretty good job most of the time, but there are times when she knows just enough to mess things up and now she says that AutoCAD is just being "Picky".
    David B. Baker
    CAD Supervisor
    Munters Corporation, Aerotech Ventilation Systems
    Lansing, MI USA

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Renaming user names

    The ARG file should be in your root AutoCAD folder.
    Or right click and look at the properties of your AutoCAD Icon
    on the desktop, to see what profile it is loading.
    It my also be located under your user data folders that windows
    sets up.

    Any IT person that doesn't consult with the CAD manager or
    senior user BEFORE modifying workstation or network settings
    should be replaced.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to Beth Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    355
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Renaming user names

    This problem happens when the product is not installed logged in as ADMINISTRATOR. I've seen this before.

    While true, you can install and use if you are a user with administrative rights, no one else can log in to your machine and use the program because it is only set for the one user who installed this. This also happens if your name is changed because the program only knows you as "Dave" and not User 1.

    You will have to reinstall the program logged in as administrator and try to move any specific files you may have personalized from your old profile under document and settings... to your new location.

    This is why I always advise any company where I will be installing software for administrator log in and explain the outcomes if that is not done.

    I also always point out to all users and those where software has just been installed or upgraded to make their own profile, set up the program how they want it, and then immediately export their profile to a "safe" location. The examples I give for this are that.
    1. If your machine gets fried, wiped out by a flood, stolen, or blows up, you can easily import your profile from the "safe" location (perhaps somewhere on the network) to a new machine and new installation.
    2. If you get a new machine. Same results as #1.
    3. If your user name gets changed or you have to work on someone else's machine due to a problem with #1, you can use your profile from the "safe" location.
    This doesn't help what your IT idiot did. At this point you need to educate yourself and her and move on. Sucks big time.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    33
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Renaming user names

    Quote Originally Posted by bakerdb
    now she says that AutoCAD is just being "Picky".
    :
    Why is it that IT always say that AutoCAD is 'Picky'. Here, if anything ever goes wrong with the servers or stations, it's always AutoCAD to blame! Go figure!! IT seems to be afraid of what they don't understand or can't control I guess. Starting to P@##$## me off big time.

    joe

    thanks for letting me vent!

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time thomas.stright's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Renaming user names

    Quote Originally Posted by arcadia_x27
    Uninstall and Reinstall your IT person maybe?
    This is one of the reasons that I have a bootup password on all our cad machines....If IT wants to work on them they have to ask me....It's good being the Cad Admin


    And the answer on the run as/reinstall is a poor one for an IT person.

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to michael.12445's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    350
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Renaming user names

    Interesting...I thought on Win 2K you HAD to be logged in as Administrator in order to install AutoCAD. The IT person not knowing how to fix it is on the one hand lame, but on the other symptomatic of a general attitude I run across all the time. The thinking is something like:

    "Michael knows about computer stuff.
    AutoCAD is a computer program.
    Therefore if there are any problems with AutoCAD, Michael can fix them."

    In reality, the only reason I know anything about AutoCAD's particular quirks and gotchas is that I use it every day. An IT person who knows about networks, server management, general Windows 2K OS issues, etc., would not normally know too much about AutoCAD. But the perception is that it's all in the same category of "technical stuff", so the IT person ought to know it - after all, why are we paying him or her?

    IMHO, this isn't necessarily just dumb ignorance on the part of management, either. I think they have some justification for wondering why, after paying, say $3K (plus upgrades) per seat of AutoCAD, plus an IT staffer's salary, they still have unresolved technical issues with their CAD operations - especially after Autodesk's sales pitches about increased productivity, etc. In this case, it looks like the issue might not exist if AutoCAD simply refused to install for any user other than "Administrator," or if it had some other mechanism for handling different (or renamed) users more gracefully. But this level of user-friendliness apparently is not a priority for Autodesk.

    Michael Evans
    Togawa & Smith, Inc.

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Renaming user names

    Funny thing; this conversation Michael.
    I was just having this conversation yesterday
    with a County Department head. They are
    in process of changing how their budget is charged
    a certain fee towards IT support, yet IT seems to
    be unable to resolve the CAD issues and maintenance
    that they require. Thusly they want to have IT need
    to invoice them for actual services that they perform
    at their request. (Pretty forward thinking for a Government
    agency I might add) Obviously IT is fighting this idea
    pretty hard.

    In my opinion any organization that employs specialty
    systems (CAD, CNC, etc) is shooting themselves in the foot
    when they hire IT professionals(?) with no fundamental background
    in those systems.

    Hiring a generic mechanic is fine unless you want
    him to work on your helicopter.

    I won't let AutoDESK off the hook here either. End-user
    ease of use seems to be lost on them and others.
    Although their vendor, and consultant network bears part
    of the responsibility here as well. When they fail to
    properly support the vendors whom in turn then fail to
    support the customers, those customers are thereafter
    reluctant to buy-in on any support and or training services
    that vendor or others ever have to offer.
    I can't name names or places only understand that I have
    support contracts with a couple of vendors that are completely
    confidential between myself, and them, and they and AutoDESK.
    And the irony is I am not an authorized read AutoDESK branded
    consultant.

    A similar discussion on AutoDESK not providing their vendor network
    with more complete or timely support was at one point being
    held prior to it being censored, and then deleted so we won't venture
    that far down that track today.

Similar Threads

  1. 2010: Other things to do with User parameter names?
    By Sarah.C.Fisher.D1 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-05-16, 12:57 PM
  2. LAYOUT NAMES RENAMING AUTOMATICALLY
    By cwgeary in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Land Desktop Companion - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-07-07, 04:49 PM
  3. User names
    By William Troeak in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-11-29, 08:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •