Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Cannot edit blocks in place

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-06
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Cannot edit blocks in place

    When I edit in place I get this message

    Command: _refedit
    Select reference:
    Errors found in references to other objects:
    ** Application reference missing: ACAD, to AcDbMaterial.

    and it doesn't allow me to edit my block

    does anyone know how to fix this?

    FYI: I have just installed and run a HotFix for an ARX Error: eDuplicateKey that was mentioned in another thread. Could this have changed my ACAD? I used to be able to edit in place until before this "fix".

    Any help is much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,197
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Cannot edit blocks in place

    Quote Originally Posted by ajamil View Post
    When I edit in place I get this message

    Command: _refedit
    Select reference:
    Errors found in references to other objects:
    ** Application reference missing: ACAD, to AcDbMaterial.

    and it doesn't allow me to edit my block

    does anyone know how to fix this?

    FYI: I have just installed and run a HotFix for an ARX Error: eDuplicateKey that was mentioned in another thread. Could this have changed my ACAD? I used to be able to edit in place until before this "fix".

    Any help is much appreciated.
    Have you tried auditing the drawing? what version are you running, if you have 06 and above, you can try the block editor to edit a block.

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    4,512
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Cannot edit blocks in place

    It sounds as though there's some entities inside the block with materials applied to them. Maybe the path to those material definitions have changed since the fix (Options / Files tab).

    If that doesn't sort the problem, WBLOCK the offending block out to a DWG file and edit it there. Also run an AUDIT / RECOVER on this file. Then insert, browse & overwrite block def into the original drawing. (Old way of editing blocks).

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: Edit block in place
    By rbhazie in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2015-01-14, 08:24 PM
  2. Edit Link In Place
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-12-26, 03:20 PM
  3. 2012: Edit in-place family
    By Bryan Thatcher in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-03-05, 10:32 PM
  4. EDIT IN PLACE
    By rstiles in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-12-19, 05:34 PM
  5. Edit block in place
    By .chad in forum ACA General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-04-18, 08:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •