Thread: Total Newbie Question about materials.

Login to Give a bone

Hi,

I've been trying to get into Revit for sometime now... just haven't had the chance to jump headfirst into a project... I'm finally giving it a shot.

Anyway, I'm having a problem with materials, I'm not sure if it is something to do with my setup or if Revit is functioning as it should.

I'm running Revit 5.1

I've produced a model of an apartment... almost none of the walls/windows or doors have any texturing on them when I render. By using the paint function I can apply a material to a wall, which is fine... but for something like a sliding door, it's a bit harder. It consists of a frame and then glazing I suppose, I would have thought the default setup would set up some standard materials? But it is completely gray.

I managed to change the frame of the sliding door by selecting Default Frame from the materials setup and assigning it an accurender material, but I can't get the glass panels to change from the gray at all.

Does this make any sense?

I guess what I'm asking is how much setting up of materials is required for Revit, is my software installed and configured correctly, am I just clueless?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Total Newbie Question about materials.

Firstly , go to View Properties and play with the different settings for the Phase Filter. You may be using a phase setting that shows previous phases in grey.

Secondly, if you have the materials set to default, (floor, wall, roof, etc ), you will not get textures in the rendered scene. To see this, go to Settings, Materials and you can see the shading and texture that are assigned to a different material. From memory, textures are not assigned to default materials. Those materials are just there for a quick initial model.