Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Same/Similar Levels - Annotation/Dims

  1. #1
    The CADSmith Chad Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,731
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Same/Similar Levels - Annotation/Dims

    Just want to get an idea of how users are handling multi-storey buildings that have either the same and/or very similar levels. I'm interested in how you go about dealing with annotating with text and dimensions.

    The most eligant solution which comes to mind is simply grouping text and using the Exclude option where levels vary slightly, and copying up dimensions, which doesn't work to well in certain instances as the level has to be exactly the same otherwise the dim doesn't copy.

    Has anyone come up with something easier?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Location
    Raleigh
    Posts
    219
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Same/Similar Levels - Annotation/Dims

    Well, if your levels are "very similar" then, generally speaking, your annotation that varies would just not copy to the next level... this can work okay. It is not too difficult copying and pasting to same location. But FAIR WARNING,
    when we did our tests here, we subltly changed some walls and wall types just to see what the dims would do, they didn't always react in a way we were satisfied with. They would sometimes jump to nearby items in the case of non-identical layouts.

    Regardless, the end user was tickled that the option was there and he just made sure to look over each floor after the annotation was copied.

  3. #3
    The CADSmith Chad Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,731
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Same/Similar Levels - Annotation/Dims

    We don't find the copying up so bad, it's only when it comes to make a change to the model that is reflected across multiple levels, that it becomes a pain to maintain dimensions and notes.

    Fortunately we only have 10 levels, but how are you big guys handling it, with your 30+ level towers?

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Location
    Raleigh
    Posts
    219
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Same/Similar Levels - Annotation/Dims

    Preferably, typical floors can be labeled as such... "Floors 3-8 Typ." and only shown once.
    But i guess it's not always that perfect. With Revit here we are continually trying to rethink our level of detail and information.

    Our buildings are not 30-stories tall yet, but we are dealing with some huge hi-density housing. Some users rely too heavily on groups and get all tied up in them. Limited grouping works well for most. And the best users know how to "chase a change" throughout the model... like we all had to do in cad.

    I wish i had some fresh ideas but i just eagerly await more and more Group improvements.

Similar Threads

  1. Save my own annotation settings (similar to workspace)
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-05-22, 09:19 PM
  2. DIMS losing annotation property when added to drawing.
    By tplancon in forum AutoCAD Annotation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-08-09, 10:10 PM
  3. Annotation - Room names & Yay by Yay dims
    By Mr Cory in forum Dynamic Blocks - Sharing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-06-04, 11:22 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-03-07, 03:50 PM
  5. Levels - Hide annotation in view.
    By Paul P. in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2006-01-30, 05:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •