Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    Why do annotation filled regions (solid black) not print at all? I have an annotation symbol for my exit signs that use an annotation solid black filled region - it looks good on screen, but the sold black DOES NOT PRINT! Please help if you have a suggestion!

    (P.S. - It is a nested family, the symbol is nested into the exit sign generic model to show up on plan)

    Revit Arch. 2008

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    14
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    Try printing with "Raster Processing" (instead of vector). This is an issue that the Revit team has been made aware of. I haven't checked if it has been fixed in 2009, but in 2008, this was a BUG.

    This is specific to solid filled regions used in nested annotations.
    Last edited by andrewjohnson97; 2008-08-05 at 08:02 PM.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Posts
    466
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    Try printing to PDF first. When you open the PDF file in acrobat, are the filled regions black?

    If so, try printing the PDF to paper. How does the solid black print from the PDF file?


    My point is, it's possible there is something else going on here, beyond Revit. It could be outdated printer drivers, or something like that. I just tested on our system (2009 web update 1). Solid Black filled regions print without a problem.

    Best of luck,

    Bryan

  4. #4
    100 Club Jos Arpink's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    I am using the latest build and it is still broken. It was not an issue in 2008.
    Jos Arpink

  5. #5
    NavisWorks Moderator david.kingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1,329
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    It was a bug in 2008, you have to print with raster. It IS fixed in 2009.

  6. #6
    100 Club Jos Arpink's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    Thanks David...this is wierd. I have stepped out of the car, closed the door, walked around it 3 times, stepped back in, and triple checked my version/build numbers and am still seeing this issue in 2009, and not in 2008.

    I neglected to mention in my previous post that I am using Revit Structure 2009. I will contact Adesk support to see if they can duplicate. Stay tuned...
    Jos Arpink

  7. #7
    NavisWorks Moderator david.kingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1,329
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    Hmm that's odd, just tried it in structure 09 and it works fine...is it just one family that does it or all of them?

  8. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    This happens in any nested family with an annotation symbol family inside of a model family (such as an exit sign, or elec. fixture).

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    14
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    I have tested this in Revit Arch 2009 (Web Update 1) and it still does not plot filled regions properly (only the outline shows) with vector processing. I've attached my test file as an example. I just stopped making families like this...who needs data symbols anyways?!

    Andy
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict Andre Carvalho's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    2,386
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Solid Black "Filled Region" Does Not Print

    Quote Originally Posted by andrewjohnson97 View Post
    I have tested this in Revit Arch 2009 (Web Update 1) and it still does not plot filled regions properly (only the outline shows) with vector processing. I've attached my test file as an example. I just stopped making families like this...who needs data symbols anyways?!

    Andy
    It worked fine here, printing your file to PDF. See attached. (RAC 2009)

    Andre Carvalho
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Solid Black Filled Region not visible
    By mfox396859 in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-07-22, 05:57 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2010-03-11, 12:49 PM
  3. Solid filled regions print always black
    By stephanschneller in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-11-26, 01:31 PM
  4. Any "filled region" resolution?
    By mikefields27 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2005-01-06, 08:38 PM
  5. "White" filled regions print Black???
    By jabberwoki in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-06-30, 07:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •