See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Proper setup of Object Enablers

  1. #1
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Lightbulb Proper setup of Object Enablers

    I see many questions related to getting object enablers working properly in NavisWorks 2009.

    Here is the correct procedure for supporting AutoCAD MEP 2008. The steps will be similar for other AutoCAD products.

    Install the Object Enablers
    Object Enablers for NavisWorks
    Note that the ACA OE is required to support the AMEP OE!
    1. Install the AutoCAD Architecture 2008 OE (must be installed first)
    2. Install the AutoCAD MEP 2008 OE


    Set the loaders for DWG in Tools, Global Options
    1. Start NavisWorks and go to Tools, Global Options, File Readers, DWG/DXF/SAT
    2. Set DWG Loader version to 2008 (If you are supporting other versions, set appropriately.)
    3. Close Navisworks


    Clear existing cache files
    Cache files will reload the bad representations unless the drawing is more recent than the cache file.
    1. Delete any existing .nwc files


    This information is finally documented by Autodesk, but apparently is only available to Subscription customers. I've included this link for Subscription customers.
    Last edited by RobertB; 2008-08-13 at 07:27 PM. Reason: Added links
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  2. #2
    NavisWorks Moderator david.kingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1,329
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers

    Great post Robert.

    Here are some other object enablers I have found:
    CAD-Duct
    ShipConstructor
    MagiCAD
    AutoPlant

    That's all I have for now...
    Last edited by david.kingham; 2008-08-13 at 07:33 PM.

  3. #3
    100 Club steve.perkio's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Riverside, California
    Posts
    140
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers

    For the newer folks that don't know how to see what O.E.'s they are missing.....

    Cick the pull down menu >View >[Scene Statistics]

    The resulting window will list any missing O.E.'a and the quantity of objects that were not rendered. Also listed is the company that should have to O.E. available (note that sometimes Autodesk is listed when another company is acutally responsible).

    Verify with the person supplying the cad file what it was rendered with, and ask if they have the correct enabler available for you (quicker and easier, plus it is usually correct), or have a direct link to the download page.

    Download the enabler and execute it to install.

    You may have to restart Navis.

    I have recently worked with the Autodesk Product Support to clear a long standing O.E. issue, and the order of installation really does matter. I had to install every O.E. that we could find to finally clear my issue, and some won't install until others are installed first.

    There doesn't seem to be any documentation on this order of installation, nor could we explain why I had the one recurring issue which doesn't seem to be an issue for most users.

    Perk
    Last edited by RobertB; 2008-08-18 at 03:24 PM. Reason: Corrected menu item spelling

  4. #4
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers

    Autodesk has finally released an official TS document regarding obejct enablers for NavisWorks.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers

    Quote Originally Posted by RobertB View Post
    Autodesk has finally released an regarding obejct enablers for NavisWorks.
    Were might one find OE for 2009 MEP 64bit?

  6. #6
    NavisWorks Moderator david.kingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1,329
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers


  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers

    Thanks David
    I still have an issue attempting to view MEP objects in Navis Manage 2009 on a 64 bit system. Have you experienced this or perhaps found a work around?

    The only way I have been able to view MEP objects thus far is to export a NWC in AutoCAD and then view in Manage. Not the best solution on a large project with multiple players.

  8. #8
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers

    Quote Originally Posted by deisman View Post
    I still have an issue attempting to view MEP objects in Navis Manage 2009 on a 64 bit system. Have you experienced this or perhaps found a work around?
    You must install the ACA object enabler before the MEP object enabler.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-07
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers

    I followed the installation of the OE EXACTLY as stated in hte below post. I still cant get MEP 2009 elbows or Y's to import into Navisworks as a solid it is only in wireframe. I even had the contractor run and AECCONVERTTOMASSELEMENT command first. Anyone have any ideas.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    40
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Proper setup of Object Enablers

    This is more for autocad, but I will post here anyway. To avoid database data bloating of dwgs containing proxy objects (increased file sizes when using object enablers in autocad), set the autocad default save to 2004 or later. this bloating bug seems to have been fixed in the 2004 format.

Similar Threads

  1. Object Enablers..
    By Dr._House in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-10-17, 05:01 PM
  2. Object Enablers
    By art.theusch in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-05-19, 03:47 AM
  3. Object Enablers
    By Steve Cook in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-07-29, 01:26 PM
  4. Object Enablers
    By bjlottis in forum DWG TrueView - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-12-21, 05:55 PM
  5. Beyond Object Enablers ....
    By rclayton in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-06-02, 03:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •