See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: How would you build it?

Login to Give a bone

Default How would you build it?

I have a typical strip mall building. It consists of a cmu base, brick then eifs as you work your way up. It has curtain walls and windows. I am new to Revit and have to teach myself so I really don't know what I'm doing. I currently have 14 different stacked walls in this building. Now I've had to lower each one and put a seperate wall on top of the stacked wall for a thinner parapet wall condition which is leaving me horizontal lines - but only in some places. I have embedded walls in some places as well, and hosted sweeps around virtually everything, not to mention pilasters that only bump out 8". Revit is supposed to stand for Revise Instantly, yet I'm unable to make changes without taking several days to fix everything which makes me think that this is not the best way to handle this building. It's typical construction in the US right now - I'm really having a hard time believing that it's just too much for this program, I've attached a corner perspective of my building as a reference.

Here's the question...how would you build it? Stacked walls? Hundreds of reference planes/levels? At this point I'm ready to scrap the whole thing (again) and start over but I'm just at my wit's end as to how to proceed from here. Thank you in advance.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Certifiable AUGI Addict twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: How would you build it?

I do retail that is very similar, and i do use a ton of stacked walls for it as well. When i have to make changes like that though, im careful to take notice as to the Order of Operations (just like 7th grade math!!!).