Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Exchange data through API

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-08
    Posts
    16
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Exchange data through API

    I am new to Revit.I hope someone can help me with this issue.

    Basically I want to exchange data between a .NET application running on one server and Revit running on another server. Is it possible to handle the communication between an external application and Revit using APIs?
    I want to update element properties of a Model using my .NET application.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict sfaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Littleton, CO (Denver Metro)
    Posts
    1,535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Exchange data through API

    I'm not an expert on the API by any means, but I'm pretty sure you can't drive data into Revit externally. As far as I'm aware, all API commands have to be started in Revit. You could have an external .NET app that edits data, but you would have to export the Revit data with an API command from Revit, then edit it externally, and re-import with another API command from within Revit.

    Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe this is the case currently.

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Brookline, MA
    Posts
    186
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Exchange data through API

    I'd say that there are mechanisms to do this kind of thing - but never particularly elegantly.

    If Revit was going to be dedicated on the server, I've always figured that you could write a Revit Application which could listen for instructions and then do the work (watching a database, a folder, or actually accepting communications via remoting/wcf/etc).

    Good Luck,
    Matt

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-08
    Posts
    16
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Exchange data through API

    Thank you for the reply.

    This is my scenario:

    There is an Integration process that needs to exchange some data from the .NET application to Revit. I am not quite sure if there are any APIs in Revit that handles Inter process communication. I am currently doing research on Revit 2009 API set.

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Brookline, MA
    Posts
    186
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Exchange data through API

    There are no supported APIs to communicate with Revit via interprocess communication.

    Sorry,
    -matt

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-08
    Posts
    16
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Exchange data through API

    I think I am going to use the Toolbar command to Invoke the whole integration process and update the element properties.

    Is it possible to change the color of elements based on attribute values?

Similar Threads

  1. Session 2 - Part B: CodeBook and Revit data exchange
    By RTC Events in forum Session 2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-07-14, 08:22 PM
  2. IN22-1: 21st-Century Image and Data Exchange Standards
    By Autodesk University in forum Internet
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-04-08, 06:53 PM
  3. Interoperability and Data Exchange Between Inventor and Revit MEP
    By karen.smith.223476 in forum Revit - Tutorials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-09-11, 01:10 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-05-10, 04:54 PM
  5. Exchange Discussions (merged from all RUGI and Exchange topics)
    By Jim Balding in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 197
    Last Post: 2004-11-30, 09:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •