Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Points on a curve

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Post Points on a curve

    I have had difficulties understanding how to have my field cures shoot curves with more than three points on a curve. Most of our projects are in rural areas that have roads with a very large radius.

    At this time I just have my crew put “POC” after our code then go in there and draw the curve myself. I would like to have the computer draw it for me when I import the field book file.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member dcermak's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    Clinton, MS
    Posts
    20
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Points on a curve

    The field crew can use the C3 code in the data collector and then shoot the PC, POC and the PT on the curve. The C3 command will draw a curve through these 3 points. This works well on plan drawings but might hurt you on topos, especially on long curves. You won't have any topo shots along the curve between your 3 points.
    Perhaps your best solution is to have them shoot the curve normally but noting the beginning of the curve as PT in the descriptor, a POC descriptor about midway on the curve and the POT descriptor at the end of the curve. Then you can draw a 3 point arc using those points.Using this curve as a Proximity fault can pick up the extra elevations along the curve.

  3. #3
    Active Member nelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Portland, MI
    Posts
    90
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Points on a curve

    We had this same problem in the past. I came up with a way for both field and office liked. I made a new code and called it MPC (multi point curve) I used the desc keys to map it to a new layer, use a bold color, and we could isolate it from the rest of the topo. I would use a pedit on that line, and use a fit curve. Then I would do the same as dcermak said. Use that line as a proximity fault if you need it.

    What the field like about this method, is that they can run multiple lines as they go. So you could have the Edge of Metal, Gutterpan, Back of Curb, Sidewalk, shot all in as they walk (MPC1,MPC2,MPC3….)

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Points on a curve

    At some point (maybe the 2007 version?) Autodesk added the MCS (multi-point curve start) and MCE (multi-point curve end) commands. Our field guys no longer use the C3 command, much to their joy.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Points on a curve

    Thank you all, I see we all have the same problem and AutoCAD has not given us the opportunity to shoot a multi-point curve yet. Maybe in the next version?

Similar Threads

  1. How do I rotate points, then align, and move the selected points
    By dailey.doug105991 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Land Desktop Companion - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-06-30, 02:40 PM
  2. Create Points - Interpolate - Along Polyline/Curve
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-09-17, 02:00 PM
  3. Enter survey points on a curve
    By gjburkett in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2011-02-23, 05:49 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-04-27, 08:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •