Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Linux / Revit / Wine

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Linux / Revit / Wine

    I did a search on this, and couldn't find much. A lot of the threads were about a year old or so. Has there been any improvements with this, is anybody using wine to use revit on a linux machine.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time CADDmanVA's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    881
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linux / Revit / Wine

    Quote Originally Posted by kgrant.115222 View Post
    I did a search on this, and couldn't find much. A lot of the threads were about a year old or so. Has there been any improvements with this, is anybody using wine to use revit on a linux machine.
    I'm not a Revit user, so take me with a grain of salt. It's prolly safe to assume not much headway has been made. AutoCAD is so dependent on Microsoft proprietary technologies (.NET, the registry, etc.), that it is almost impossible to run it under WINE. You're best bet (which is what I do) is to use a virtual environment for your must-be Windows apps.
    I loved the NCS so much, I joined the committee!

    "Truth suffers from too much analysis"
    I remember AutoCAD R10

    When will Autodesk port AutoCAD to Linux?

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linux / Revit / Wine

    Yeah, i started to look into that as well, but its funny i have asked this question in two other places and there has been no mention of using a virtual environment until just now.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time CADDmanVA's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    881
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linux / Revit / Wine

    Quote Originally Posted by kgrant.115222 View Post
    Yeah, i started to look into that as well, but its funny i have asked this question in two other places and there has been no mention of using a virtual environment until just now.

    Prolly because those boards are primarily die-hards. i.e. they consider any association with Windows to be a travesty and personal insult. I will warn you though, you have to have a mighty strong system to virtual. The demand on resources is pretty steep. A guy I work with runs XP on his Mac Pro. Out of the four gig the box has, he gives two to XP and it still drags at times.
    I loved the NCS so much, I joined the committee!

    "Truth suffers from too much analysis"
    I remember AutoCAD R10

    When will Autodesk port AutoCAD to Linux?

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linux / Revit / Wine

    Doesnt Seem Worth it then. At that point i would rather run a dual boot setup. XP for revit/acad, and linux for everything else

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time CADDmanVA's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    881
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linux / Revit / Wine

    Quote Originally Posted by kgrant.115222 View Post
    Doesnt Seem Worth it then. At that point i would rather run a dual boot setup. XP for revit/acad, and linux for everything else
    I fully agree with you there. The only problem there (since there's always a problem) is you lose the multi-tasking benefits. That's why I'm still XP at the office.
    I loved the NCS so much, I joined the committee!

    "Truth suffers from too much analysis"
    I remember AutoCAD R10

    When will Autodesk port AutoCAD to Linux?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-07
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linux / Revit / Wine

    Quote Originally Posted by kgrant.115222 View Post
    Doesnt Seem Worth it then. At that point i would rather run a dual boot setup. XP for revit/acad, and linux for everything else
    Why don't you use an AutoCAD alternative on linux?
    BricsCAD for example. It costs a fraction of AutoCAD and works great on Linux or the Windows version with Wine.

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to michael.12445's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    350
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linux / Revit / Wine

    Quote Originally Posted by robindemey View Post
    Why don't you use an AutoCAD alternative on linux?
    BricsCAD for example. It costs a fraction of AutoCAD and works great on Linux or the Windows version with Wine.
    The OP is asking about Revit, not AutoCAD. BricsCAD has something called "BricsCAD Architecturals," but I think that's more of a vertical that runs on top of BricsCAD, like Autodesk's Architectural Desktop.
    Michael Evans
    Togawa Smith Martin Residential, Inc.

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linux / Revit / Wine

    Its all a lost cause. What we need are the engineers to develop revit to work with more then one core and better with 64bit

Similar Threads

  1. Linux and Revit MEP
    By jdbejk in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-05-22, 11:38 AM
  2. Revit for Linux/Mac
    By kris.franssens in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-08-15, 12:06 PM
  3. Revit on OSX/Linux????
    By GuyR in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-05-31, 01:47 AM
  4. Revit and Linux
    By mwiseman.69734 in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-02-02, 06:03 PM
  5. Revit for Linux
    By eldad in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-02-02, 05:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •