Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Security modelling anyone?

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-06
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    279
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Security modelling anyone?

    Just wondering, does anyone else generally have security included into their scope of works? Most of our jobs include security in some form and it just occurred to me that there is nothing to do with security in RMEP. Is it strange for security to be included with electrical? If not, why are communications included though not part of "electrical" in the strictest sense, and yet security isn't?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to mhartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO
    Posts
    474
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Security modelling anyone?

    there is a security device category... i've built families for all of the security devices that i typically use. they're nothing fancy, most are just a box with a cover plate on the wall or ceiling with an annotative plan symbol. i modelled a few types of cameras, dome, arm, etc... do you mean by "there is nothing to do with security in RMEP" that they just didn't supply any content?

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-06
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    279
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Security modelling anyone?

    Actually I only saw the security device category after I posted, but what I meant was there is no command to insert a security device, or model security systems eg. these cameras link to this station, these link to this station etc.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Simon.Whitbread's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-06
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    352
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Security modelling anyone?

    The Electrical side of Revit MEP is the least developed, I'd be expecting 'some' improvement in future releases, especially with regards to cableways.

    Autodesk have a HUGE list of items that either NEED to be in Revit or are at least being considered.

    It just depends on how loud users are with the requests, and how viable that request is.
    Simon Whitbread
    Revit Technical Specialist, Autodesk
    about.me/simonwhitbread
    "The distance the shotput goes, depends upon the effort that you PUT INTO IT"

  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Security modelling anyone?

    If anyone is looking for security devices visit info@Trusys.com. We have developed a large library full of security devices. We have them all from cameras, card readers, electric strikes etc. I have attached an example of our work.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Rudy.dominguez; 2008-11-26 at 12:28 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-02-05, 01:41 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-07-31, 10:06 PM
  3. job security!
    By cwilber in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2010-05-24, 02:39 PM
  4. API and security
    By fwp in forum Revit - API
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-01-08, 03:36 AM
  5. Drawing Security *
    By peter in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-04-23, 05:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •