See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Trimming

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    68
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Trimming

    I have to prepare dxf files prior to sending to the programmer and I always need to first chamfer all corners at ' 0' then I go back and delete all the overhanging pieces.

    Is there a trim-all command. Or some better method.
    Thank you.

    AD

  2. #2
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2007-10
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    118
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming

    I'm not sure of your situation, but you may try the BOUNDARY command. Use object type: polyline. That will make a nice continuous polyline which traces all your lines.

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,325
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Trimming

    Quote Originally Posted by sscarver View Post
    I have to prepare dxf files prior to sending to the programmer and I always need to first chamfer all corners at ' 0' then I go back and delete all the overhanging pieces.

    Is there a trim-all command. Or some better method.
    Thank you.

    AD
    Not sure it this will help, but have you looked into "pedit" "join" and "fuzz distance"?
    The problem with this method is it would join all the overlapping lines you select.

    Not the solution you're asking for, but could work under the right circumstances.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming

    After you chamfer there shouldn't be any overhangs. Check the trim/no trim setting in the chamfer command. (Fillet with R=0 does the same job but easier (IMO)).
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Trimming

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    After you chamfer there shouldn't be any overhangs. Check the trim/no trim setting in the chamfer command. (Fillet with R=0 does the same job but easier (IMO)).
    I was thinking the exact same thing when I read this thread, John. It confused me so I didn't reply.

    I agree, I always use fillet with R=0.
    Why is it called common sense when it is so rare?

    RevitForum.org

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,325
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming

    Quote Originally Posted by sscarver View Post
    I have to prepare dxf files prior to sending to the programmer and I always need to first chamfer all corners at ' 0' then I go back and delete all the overhanging pieces.

    Is there a trim-all command. Or some better method.
    Thank you.

    AD
    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    After you chamfer there shouldn't be any overhangs. Check the trim/no trim setting in the chamfer command. (Fillet with R=0 does the same job but easier (IMO)).
    Good thought Jaberwok....But I'm wondering if that's the issue?
    If the the OP is using the "chamfer" command with "No Trim", this would result in the overhanging lines still intact (not separate pieces from the corners), right?

    I'm curious to hear from "sscarver" to see what they find.

    (btw... I use "fillet R=0" too for this purpose... in a lisp routine)
    ** another nugget of information (fwiw) the variable "trimmode" sets "trim / no trim" for both chamfer and fillet commands
    Last edited by tedg; 2008-10-21 at 03:04 PM. Reason: trimmode variable note..
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    ** another nugget of information (fwiw) the variable "trimmode" sets "trim / no trim" for both chamfer and fillet commands
    I forgot all about that. That's one of those settings that you set way back in R12, then never need to mess with again!
    Why is it called common sense when it is so rare?

    RevitForum.org

  8. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    68
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    Good thought Jaberwok....But I'm wondering if that's the issue?
    If the the OP is using the "chamfer" command with "No Trim", this would result in the overhanging lines still intact (not separate pieces from the corners), right?

    I'm curious to hear from "sscarver" to see what they find.

    (btw... I use "fillet R=0" too for this purpose... in a lisp routine)
    ** another nugget of information (fwiw) the variable "trimmode" sets "trim / no trim" for both chamfer and fillet commands
    I'm working with Inventor creating sheet metal parts.
    I export the flat pattern face as a dxf.
    After I open it up there are some times corners that need to be trimmed away.
    What I have been doing is chamfering them at 0 but then there is still a line left and i then have to delete it.
    I figured that maybe there was something to remove multiple lines, or something of that nature because I know in 3d acad there is something that removes redundant redundant lines.
    Or am I mistaken.

    AD

  9. #9
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming

    Check that what appears to be one line is not actually two or more lines in the same location.
    Use Erase and a crossing window on one line - the promt will tell you how many objects have been selected. If you're sending dxf files for manufacturing, you really need to not have duplicate lines anyway.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  10. #10
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,325
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Trimming

    Quote Originally Posted by sscarver View Post
    ......
    I figured that maybe there was something to remove multiple lines, or something of that nature because I know in 3d acad there is something that removes redundant redundant lines.
    Or am I mistaken.

    AD
    Well that's kind of funny (and ironic)
    I'm not sure what version of Autocad you have but try the "overkill" command.
    This allows you to select geometry and it gets rid of multiple lines in the same space.

    Overkill is in express tools in 2006 at least...
    Last edited by tedg; 2008-10-24 at 12:14 PM.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with trimming.
    By d.m.polsky in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-11-20, 03:35 PM
  2. Trimming
    By shg in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-03-04, 04:30 PM
  3. Improvement to Fillet & Chamfer trimming/no trimming options
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-07-12, 03:00 PM
  4. is there a advanced way of trimming?
    By sairahcazj in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-01-03, 05:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •