Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Angry Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    I am receiving an error when trying to import a XML file into Storm Sewers Extension from Civil 3D 2008. It says "An error occured processing this XML import".

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,015
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    I'm sorry I can't help you but you will probably get more answers if you can get a moderator to move this to the AutoCAD Civil 3D - General forum.
    Jeff Paulsen

  3. #3
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    Quote Originally Posted by jpaulsen View Post
    ...you will probably get more answers if you can get a moderator to move this to the AutoCAD Civil 3D - General forum.
    Done, and done.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  4. #4
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    TN/KY Area
    Posts
    1,640
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    Do two dones make a right?

    Quote Originally Posted by RobertB View Post
    Done, and done.

    Oh **** this reply is off topic and has nothing to do with the original question. I need to moderate myself and delete it.

    Naw it's friday I'll get do it on Monday.
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    27
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Exclamation Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    John -

    The error you recieved is due to the fact that your pipe's flow direction is bad. That is, you probably have a pipe structure that contains two "OUT" flows.

    Hydraflow Storm Sewer uses the FLOW to determine where your outlet will occur.

    I will be discussing this and some methods to help you visualize that during Autodesk University in December. Sorry to say, the class is full at this time.

    Matthew Anderson, PE
    Vice President
    Joseph A Schudt & Associates
    jaseng dot com
    Last edited by MattAnderson; 2008-11-01 at 02:18 AM.

  6. #6
    Member jbbarrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    34
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    So, you have to always draw your pipes from the high end and proceed downhill, or downgradient I should say.

    I don't know if there is any way to fix a network once it has been drawn, other than deleting all of the entities in that network and starting over. Seems like a bad option to me. If you have already drawn the network, you hate to have to spend the time to redraw it just because Civil 3D screwed it up.

    Anyway, from here on out you should draw your network at the top, working down grade. All pipes need to be this way. It makes it easier to edit your pipe slopes using the network part editor.

    Good luck.

    John Barrus, P.E.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    27
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    John -

    All you need to do is fix the flow direction with the CHANGE FLOW DIRECTION.

    Deleting the network is not a good idea.

    Working from top down works fine for some of the pipe rules to allow the minimum cover rule to work properly. If you draw upstream with the flow down, the minimum slope rule takes precedence.

    Matthew Anderson, PE
    Last edited by MattAnderson; 2008-11-06 at 02:21 PM.

  8. #8
    Member jbbarrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    34
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    Quote Originally Posted by MattAnderson View Post
    John -

    All you need to do is fix the flow direction with the CHANGE FLOW DIRECTION.

    Deleting the network is not a good idea.

    Working from top down works fine for some of the pipe rules to allow the minimum cover rule to work properly. If you draw upstream with the flow down, the minimum slope rule takes precedence.

    Matthew Anderson, PE

    Does changing flow direction from the pull down menu have the same effect as using the pipe properties dialog and changing the flow method? I have still had problems when I have changed the flow direction using the pipe properties dialog.

    John Barrus, P.E.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    27
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    Using the Change Flow Direction command allow you to graphically select the items from upstream to downstream (or vice versa) as the command line indicates. The status that it changes is the Start to End or End to Start value of each pipe. I can certainly go nuts trying to manually change the pipe properties for 200 pipes or 5 pipes trying to figure out which end is the start and what is the end...

  10. #10
    Member jbbarrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    34
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing XML from Civil 3D 2008 into Storm Sewers Extension

    Thanks Matt. That answers my question, I think. I'll try it out.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-07, 05:24 PM
  2. Storm Sewers
    By tim_newsome in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-01-23, 06:09 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-02-11, 08:11 PM
  4. Verfügbarkeit der AutoCAD Civil 3D 2008 Extension
    By JoergP. in forum Deutsch - AutoCAD Civil 3D
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-01-17, 08:42 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-12-17, 11:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •