Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Structural Usage Sub categories

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    442
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Structural Usage Sub categories

    When modeling a truss out of beams and braces I would like to see the ability to set the structural usage the same as if you made the truss in a truss family ie. Chord, Web ect. This would help greatly in scheduling these items and also help keep the model organized.

    Another structural usage sub category that would be helpful is in organizing the model is one for cantilevered beams. Currently right know when placing cantilevered beams with the structural usage set to automatic it will get set to "other". I would like it to say "cantilever".

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-07
    Location
    Brisbane (Ex. Swedish)
    Posts
    349
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Structural Usage Sub categories

    Hi,
    It would be really handy if we could create or add to the Structural Usage list.

    Cheers,
    J

  3. #3
    100 Club Steve Mintz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    169
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Structural Usage Sub categories

    I'd love to see "Collector" and "Lateral Frame"; I've been able to work past this by simply adding another parameter and creating a filter utilizing it; the filter has been added to my view templates (and project template).

    I agree 100% with the call for adding "Chord" and "Web".

    Can I ask why you want the "Cantilever" structural usage?

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    442
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Structural Usage Sub categories

    I have found that it would be nice to be able to isolate and schedule cantilevered and back span beams, when liking with an analytical program. Programs like Ram and Risa will take the 2 beams that we put into Revit and turn them into 1 beam in the analytical program. If we could isolate these beams it would help with trouble shooting, or making sure the paramters are set correctly so the export correctly. On the way back into Revit it would be nice to see that the members got updated correctly.
    This doesn't have to come from the structural usage setting, another way this could be accomplished was if you could schedule and filter by the cantilever symbol parameter.

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    836
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Structural Usage Sub categories

    I think the ability to create our own custom Usages or add to the list would be extremely helpful in both steel and concrete systems, when it comes to schedules being able to group band beams together or other particular items rather then creating parameters to do it for us.

    Just a simple dialog box in the Structural Settings with an add option that adds to the list. Limiting just leaves out those few who do things differently opening it up allows everyone to do what they want.
    AJS
    BIMM Consultant
    www.GHD.com

Similar Threads

  1. Revit 2013 Structural Framing - Structural Usage Differences
    By a.bryant in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-07-19, 10:47 PM
  2. Structural usage - Non-bearing structural walls
    By Bryan Thatcher in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-08-26, 07:51 PM
  3. Structural Framing - Structural Usage
    By Davied2 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-04-07, 08:45 AM
  4. Structural Usage
    By Tobie in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-01-11, 11:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •