Thread: Need Additional Structures in Pipes Network

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Default Need Additional Structures in Pipes Network

We'd like to be able to have access to more parts in our pipe networks. I'm very new to this Civil 3D and such but it would be ideal if we had all the state's structures to chose from when drawing our pipe networks. It seems that most of those out of the box are concentric (manhole) type structures. We want something to appear as a square or rectangular catch basin.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Need Additional Structures in Pipes Network

it's going to take a while since everyone wants something different not just for state, but their own county and city jurisdiction.

Do what everyone does: Copy the "out of the box" Civil3D library and just edit each piece of pipes and structures to your jurisdiction and to your company's liking. Remember, each style has their own visibility state controls as well as layer assignments, so unless a majority of us are using NCS or AEC stuff, it's going take just as much time to change those settings in the styles even if you copy from someone else.

What state are you located in?

Civil Engineering Moderator civil3Dguide's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

You should already have the option of using rectangular basins in C3D. I wish I could be of more help to you, but your comment leaves me confused as to why you are not finding this option, maybe the structures just need to be added/loaded.

Heartland of the Mid-west, home of the Indy 500
    Login to Give a bone

Wink Re: Need Additional Structures in Pipes Network

Quote Originally Posted by Christian Barrett View Post
    You should already have the option of using rectangular basins in C3D. I wish I could be of more help to you, but your comment leaves me confused as to why you are not finding this option, maybe the structures just need to be added/loaded.