See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PDF Plot to Landscape Fixed

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-05
    Location
    Midland Tx.
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default PDF Plot to Landscape Fixed

    I came across a problem where when I would plot to PDF, plotting the image as landscape, it would show up in Adobe as portrait. You can rotate the image, but adobe would not save the change. So even though this seems small, it can be rather time consuming rotating every PDF you have to open.

    I looked for it on here, and couldnt find a solution. I did some research and got it to work. So heres the fix...

    Step 1
    Select the PDF as your plotter. Click on the properties tab. When that opens, click on custom properties.

    Step 2
    Click on the "Layout" tab. Change the orientation to Landscape.

    Step 3
    Click on the "Paper/Quality" tab. Confirm that color is selected. Click on the "Advanced" tab within "Paper/Quality".

    Step 4
    Click on the paper size dropdown menu. Select "PostScript Custom Page Size". Type in the desired plot area and make sure Inch or Millimeter is selected. Click Ok, and Ok again until you get back to the Plotter Configuration Editor Box.

    Step 5
    Under "User-defined Paper Sizes & Calibration", click on "Modify Standard Paper Sizes (Printable Area)". Click on "PostScript Custom Page Size" and click "Modify". You can change the margins here if you want, I just left them alone. Click next and next again until it says Finish. Click Finish. Now Click Ok.

    It will ask you to save the PC3 file. Save it and name it something like Adobe PDF 30x42 or Adobe PDF ARCH D for example.

    Repeat these steps for each of the different paper sizes you use. Thats it, I hope this will help out!

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: PDF Plot to Landscape Fixed

    I find it easier to set acad to plot to portrait - 1 click, every size.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: PDF Plot to Landscape Fixed

    Just FYI, if you use the rotate pages tool, then it won't save your rotations, but if you select the thumbnail, then right click and choose rotate that way, you can then save it. At least, that's how it happens for me.
    Why is it called common sense when it is so rare?

    RevitForum.org

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: PDF Plot to Landscape Fixed

    The fix depends on what software is used to make the PDF.
    The printer, AutoCAD, and any page combining tools have settings
    that will compete with each other. Change settings, plot, check, repeat.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-04
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: PDF Plot to Landscape Fixed

    Thank you.
    Example: I used the PostScript Custom Page Size as described above, set my orientation to landscape in the print driver,
    Print driver.JPG

    set the orientation to portrait in AutoCAD printer dialogue box and selected Plot upside-down. It Worked.
    AutoCAD Print.JPG
    Thank you again

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-04
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: PDF Plot to Landscape Fixed

    Forgot when I set the Custom paper size I set the size with landscape dimensions.
    PostScript Custom Page Size Definition.JPG

  7. #7
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2018-07
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: PDF Plot to Landscape Fixed

    Amazing, from the point that this is unsolved we did not waste our time to think about it, but its really annoying when you need to do every time, I really appreciate it its been years while we suffered from this problem

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2015-05-21, 02:02 AM
  2. Landscape
    By Brian Myers in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-01-05, 09:45 PM
  3. Plot a Multi-Sheet DWF with Landscape sheets and Portrait sheets
    By KansasCAD in forum Design Review - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-05-18, 06:51 PM
  4. Plot A1 drawing to A1 PDF landscape
    By earld in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 2006-03-14, 06:49 PM
  5. Plot Portrait / Landscape problem
    By Spenner in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-01-30, 08:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •