Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: slot in imported .stl solid

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Swansea South Wales
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default slot in imported .stl solid

    I know it just after the holiday & the brain is not functioning 100% but I'm going nuts trying to put slots in an imported .stl solid. Help says you can do it with a feature so why won't it work? I put a sketch on a plane or face but when I try to use extrude to 'cut' the slot it only allows the surfaces option. What am I doing wrong?
    Using Inventor Pro 2008

  2. #2
    Manufacturing Moderator jonathan.landeros's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Los Angeles County, Ca.
    Posts
    440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: slot in imported .stl solid

    Keith,

    Are you sure the file didn't import as a surface model? It sounds like it did. If you can get it to import as a solid, or stitch it into one after the fact, then the slot should work.

    You can always attach the file here (assuming there's no proprietary type rules that prevent it), and either myself (or one of the other AUGI addicts) can take a look.
    Jonathan Landeros
    KETIV Technologies
    Orange County, California.

    I've got a blog: www.inventor-tales.blogspot.com

    “We have now left Reason and Sanity Junction.Next stop, Looneyville.” -Bob the Skull in the Dresden Files

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Swansea South Wales
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: slot in imported .stl solid

    Thanks Jonathan, I think you may be right I'll take another stab at it. Unfortunately I can't attach it as it is part of a patent application for a well known UK aero engine manufacturer. I think I would be shot at dawn if I did that!

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    641
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: slot in imported .stl solid

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith.Turner2 View Post
    ... an imported .stl solid.
    Inventor does not import stl files?
    Stl files are surfaces - not solids.
    However you go the data (since Inventor doesn't import stl) you will need to learn how to use the Construction Environment in Inventor.
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm
    AU 2007 Avatech Altogether Smarter Inventor On-line Challenge 1st Place
    Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Williamsport, PA

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Swansea South Wales
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: slot in imported .stl solid

    OK on that, I will look to learn about & to use the construction environment.
    But the 'Help' does say that you can use features to cut the .stl object.

    Back in the new year, Happy new year!

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    641
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: slot in imported .stl solid

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith.Turner2 View Post
    But the 'Help' does say that you can use features to cut the .stl object.
    Can you give the terms to search in Help to find this information? Perhaps attach a screen shot as well. I have never been able to import stl files into Inventor. Even if you can stl files are heavily faceted surfaces, generally of little use in engineering other than as reference geometry.

    Are you sure you aren't confusing stl with STEP (*.stp)?

    If you attended AU 2008 I gave a presentation on using neutral format data that you can access at http://au.autodesk.com
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm
    AU 2007 Avatech Altogether Smarter Inventor On-line Challenge 1st Place
    Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Williamsport, PA

Similar Threads

  1. Constrain a hole on a slot
    By Wish List System in forum Inventor Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-12-10, 11:39 AM
  2. Imported dwg hatches turn solid black
    By gmg in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010-02-24, 04:09 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-03-16, 07:00 AM
  4. Positionally Constrain a Slot to a Hole
    By inventor.wishlist1738 in forum Inventor Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-03-09, 03:47 AM
  5. Cleaning up imported solid geometry.
    By lucadesign.104000 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-03-08, 09:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •