Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Sharing coordinates with a DWG site plan...

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to mickaeL_renauD's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    248
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Exclamation Sharing coordinates with a DWG site plan...

    Alright, I have never used the Shared Coordinates command but I'm about to start up a new project that has multiple buildings placed all over. I'm not gendering no site plan in Revit because of the complexity and size. So I figure maybe to use SC and that would help me control the separate linked files on the site plan once I start setting up the buildings.

    I want to be able to Link the Revit models in and have them fall in place...NOW the only thing is i have no clue on where to start or how to set this up. I've been looking everywhere but nothing that is really help! So if anyone knows or has done something along the lines of what I mention above please help any help would be very helpful!!
    Mickael Renaud
    MEP Design Engineer


    | Less is only more where more is no good |

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    7,047
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sharing coordinates with a DWG site plan...

    Here's a thread I keep handy for reference:

    http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=92171

    Look at the 2nd post by dduarte. I used that workflow for my current project, the first time I have tried doing a separate site file and linking the site and building into each other, and it has worked out beautifully so far. I think the key, though, is to have a good quality, accurate CAD file, with accurate elevations and things in the right place on the Z-axis. I have another project where this is not the case, and I cannot get the building and site links to be in the right place relative to each other, no matter what.

    Now, since you're doing several buildings on a site, it is my understanding that you would link the site into each building file, move/rotate/change elevation of the site link as need to fit the building, acquire and share coordinates, and then link that building back into the site file by shared coordinates. This should make each building show up in the correct place on the site. Someone can correct me if I'm wrong.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to mickaeL_renauD's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    248
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sharing coordinates with a DWG site plan...

    Seems like it will all be helpful information. Thanks for the asst.
    Mickael Renaud
    MEP Design Engineer


    | Less is only more where more is no good |

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-11-14, 02:14 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-07-14, 08:23 PM
  3. I'm having trouble importing dwg or dxf site plan from site engineer
    By Denis01 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-08-27, 08:34 PM
  4. Off Site file sharing...
    By cchollet in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-02-21, 03:23 PM
  5. Sharing coordinates outside the office
    By DaveP in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2007-01-29, 07:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •