Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    175
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    Hi All

    Just read the 7 preview guide and yes it does mention that we can export to viz "via plugin", this must mean streamlined workflow.

    Can the guys at the factory have some input about the plugin please.

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict Andre Baros's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Point of no return
    Posts
    1,611
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    I would assume that the plug-in will need to be on the Viz/Max end of things, just like the old plug-ins for AutoCAD and Desktop. Revit will export, but when will Max import?

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict hand471037's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Oakland, California
    Posts
    1,934
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    yes, I've only seen it said that it will work with Viz- will it work with Max too?

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time Les Therrien's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Tecumseh, Canada
    Posts
    623
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    Of course this comes available now that I've let my Viz subscription run out! Oh well, I never really used it anyways.
    I am guessing this connectivity is a prelude to some type of built in Viz Render.

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    1,907
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    Note that its still not a direct link as in Accurender, you have to export to dwg then into viz. The plugin just will probably pick up the material definitions from the Revit out. Still its better than redefining the materials. It'll be interesting to see how it handles normals, uvw mapping etc...

  6. #6
    100 Club tatlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Waltham, Ma
    Posts
    151
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    Quote Originally Posted by Jit

    Can the guys at the factory have some input about the plugin please.
    See my reply at news://discussion.autodesk.com/autodesk.revit
    matt jezyk
    autodesk revit

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,116
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    And unless the XML data in V7 has changed it won't included any camera information.

    Guy

  8. #8
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    Quote Originally Posted by tatlin
    Cut and pasted here for reference.

    Revit has exported AccuRender xdata for quite some time. This allows you to
    simply export from Revit to dwg/dxf and then render using AccuRender for
    Autocad. Materials, etc will be applied already to the acad geometry.

    Revit 6.0 and above export additional, seperate xdata that is not AccuRender
    specific. This information basically allows you to 'reconstitute' revit
    objects after they've been exported to dwg/dxf. You can do some interesting
    things with the info that is exported, ranging from visualization to linking
    with revit object data (ODBC export).

    Think about the case of a Revit wall - when you export from a 3d view, you
    get 6 polyface meshes (one for each side of the wall). When you export from
    a 2d plan view, you get 2d lines and hatch in the dwg. For better or for
    worse these are lightweight, basic autocad entities - no object enablers for
    revit. So what if you want to do interesting stuff with what was a
    'higher-level' object in Revit but is now a set of lines, arcs and circles?

    In both of these cases, the autocad entities now have additional xdata that
    describe the revit object they came from. By collecting and sorting through
    this information you can build other interesting behaviors (like linking the
    acad geometry to a database, 3rd party app or rendering application).

    The per-entity xdata Revit writes out is as follows (detailed info is
    available via ADN):

    - Revit Element ID - an invarient, unique ID (kind of like entity handles
    in acad)
    - Category - Top-level element classification (wall, roof, window, floor,
    etc)
    - Subcategory - Second-level element classification (frame vs glass in a
    window)
    - Type - Part of Revit's object heirarchy of Family : Type : Instance
    (Window Double Hung : 36"x48")
    - Material - the Revit/Accurender material assigned to the geometry

    Revit also writes out Material definitions using the same XML schema as ADT
    / VIZRender and VIZ2005. The _basic_ material definition is translated and
    written into the dwg.

    So, using the entity xdata and the material definitions, the "Autodesk VIZ
    2005 Revit Update" does some interesting things...<g>

    We hope you'll like it.

    matt jezyk
    autodesk revit
    Bruce Gow.

    Karel*CAD. Application Specialist..
    Architect.
    Revitalize. Blog

  9. #9
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    So does it share a common material library? Lets say you make an accurender material with a procedural "bumb" does that exact material get ported to VIZ? What if we want to use VIZ materials??

    Can't wait to see how this works.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Senior Project Manager | Associate

    BECK

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time Arnel Aguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    577
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 7.0 Render export Viz via Plugin

    I just hope that it can now do dynamic link from the revit model to viz model.
    As of version 6.1 it is a disaster everytime you update your model in revit most of your material assignment in viz are gone and you have to reapply it again and again for every update.
    Just hoping it is already fixed in 7 and very curious what this plug-in is all about.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Maxwell Render seeking programmer for Revit Plugin
    By jwilhelm in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2011-04-03, 11:57 AM
  2. New Revit to Bentley Export Plugin - Anyone tried?
    By kclark.128193 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-11-20, 04:46 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-09-18, 01:15 PM
  4. Maxwell Render Plugin for Revit
    By Steve Jager in forum Revit - Rendering
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2005-06-16, 07:57 PM
  5. Maxwell Render Plugin for Revit
    By Steve Jager in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-06-14, 07:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •