Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: switching to revit

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-02
    Location
    Marquette, Michigan
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question switching to revit

    I currently work with Architectural Desktop 3.3 and the company I work for is leaning toward switching to Revit. Can anyone give me some tips or pointers on the difficulty in crossing over?

  2. #2
    Revit Guru gregcashen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Emeryville, CA
    Posts
    1,352
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    I would suggest, rather than asking an open-ended question like this, that you download the trial version, run through the tutorials and read through the forums here for any problems you may have. I can understand the impulse to ask this kind of question...probably feeling a bit overwhelmed at the propsect of having to learn a whole new software program...but I can assure you most of your questions have been asked and answered here before. As you run into problems, try searching on the particular function or feature you're having difficulty with. There are probably dozens of posts related to your issue and you will be back on track in no time. If you run across a problem you don't think has been addressed before, by all means, bring it up. You will probably get an answer within an hour, if not less.

    Keep in mind...
    1. Specific questions tend to get more responses here than open-ended ones.
    2. The only way to get comfortable with this software is to play with it...and I do mean "play". you will find that it is much more fun than the "other" software.
    3. The sooner you do the tutorials, the sooner you will be proficient. Get in front of the ball and you will soon be the office guru. And I can guarantee you will sooner be clamoring for your higher-ups to make the switch ASAP!

    Happy Revit-ing.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-02
    Location
    Marquette, Michigan
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Thanks for the input.........I have loaded the trial version and will give it a whirl. Your thoughts and ideas have been helpful.

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,497
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Another way of thinking about the "drop dead project" issue:

    Doing a pilot project to test the waters implies that it you fail, nothing much is lost. ---Everyone back to A**D.

    By doing a project that CANNOT fail, the stakes are higher, but the motivation to succeed that much greater. And the penalty for failure will be much more painful.

    Neither we nor Revit want that to happen, do we?
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  5. #5
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,546
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeJarosz
    Another way of thinking about the "drop dead project" issue:

    Doing a pilot project to test the waters implies that it you fail, nothing much is lost. ---Everyone back to A**D.

    By doing a project that CANNOT fail, the stakes are higher, but the motivation to succeed that much greater. And the penalty for failure will be much more painful.

    Neither we nor Revit want that to happen, do we?
    Was it Cortez who said, "Burn the ships"!! (after coming ashore)

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to Cathy Hadley's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    222
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeJarosz
    Another way of thinking about the "drop dead project" issue:

    Doing a pilot project to test the waters implies that it you fail, nothing much is lost. ---Everyone back to A**D.
    This is definitely an issue, It just happened with one of my clients... OMG, we *might* not be able to meet the deadline, so lets bail... just in case... (without even giving me the chance to come in throw them a life preserver) .. my point I think is about commitment. There is a learning curve, make no mistake, as with anything, but the benefits are well worth the effort.

    CZH

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    1,907
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by Cathy Hadley
    but the benefits are well worth the effort.

    CZH
    For tho$e who aren't reading between the line$, Revit make$ you money...

    For those long time ACAD users, the switch from ADT to Revit was like getting the Release 9 Acad upgrade - what break through (at that time,,, )

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    1,907
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Switch.
    do the tutorials.
    Do NOT start a "drop dead" project immediately.
    Be SURE a Prinicipal is exposed (trained) to Revit
    Depending on the office size, Worksets and getting an understanding could be an issue.
    Stay active at AUGI and ask questions.
    You're really gonna love it, Revit is ADT 3.3 on steroids plus brains!!

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time BillyGrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-04
    Location
    in a calm assertive state
    Posts
    638
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    The difficulties you run into are dependent on your office's main area of practice, and how large your firm is. But the main issues are typically integration of legacy data, office standards, thinking in 3d most of the time (really good, less interference errors), etc. Also, the issue of interfacing with struct./civil engineers, etc.

    Our very own J. Balding and his co-author CL Fox recently published a book
    "Introducing and Implementing Autodesk Revit" which speaks directly to many of the issue you will face within a firm when transitioning from the dwg world to the world of Revit.


    Fortunately, Revit is an Autodesk product, so these issues (in my area of practice anyway) are no
    problem, I move freely between .dwg/dxf, and Revit's native file format. (Revit 7, due out at the end of this month will also have .dgn capabilities.) But I must admit I am a small firm.

    Finally, if you are proficient in ADT, I feel you will really be able to get up to speed (intermediate level)
    in a very rapid amount of time. I am an ex-ADT guy, and once I worked through the tutorials, and got into a real project, this program was a revelation to me. All the things I couldn't do, or needed to train heavily in, to take ADT to a decent level, were practically intuitive in Revit.

    Good luck, there really is no comparison (imo) between the two proggies

  10. #10
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyGrey
    (Revit 7, due out at the end of this month will also have .dgn capabilities.)
    Just to clarify, Revit has had DGN capabilties since r1.0.
    Last edited by Scott Davis; 2004-10-15 at 12:13 AM.
    Scott D Davis
    Sr AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: In the process of switching to Revit
    By thomas.stright in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-12-05, 04:07 PM
  2. Problems with Switching to Revit from AutoCAD?
    By tedg in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2008-09-12, 04:18 PM
  3. switching to Vista 64 - Revit activation switching
    By ws in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-06-08, 10:02 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-01-10, 07:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •