Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: switching to revit

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-02
    Location
    Marquette, Michigan
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question switching to revit

    I currently work with Architectural Desktop 3.3 and the company I work for is leaning toward switching to Revit. Can anyone give me some tips or pointers on the difficulty in crossing over?

  2. #2
    Revit Guru gregcashen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Emeryville, CA
    Posts
    1,352
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    I would suggest, rather than asking an open-ended question like this, that you download the trial version, run through the tutorials and read through the forums here for any problems you may have. I can understand the impulse to ask this kind of question...probably feeling a bit overwhelmed at the propsect of having to learn a whole new software program...but I can assure you most of your questions have been asked and answered here before. As you run into problems, try searching on the particular function or feature you're having difficulty with. There are probably dozens of posts related to your issue and you will be back on track in no time. If you run across a problem you don't think has been addressed before, by all means, bring it up. You will probably get an answer within an hour, if not less.

    Keep in mind...
    1. Specific questions tend to get more responses here than open-ended ones.
    2. The only way to get comfortable with this software is to play with it...and I do mean "play". you will find that it is much more fun than the "other" software.
    3. The sooner you do the tutorials, the sooner you will be proficient. Get in front of the ball and you will soon be the office guru. And I can guarantee you will sooner be clamoring for your higher-ups to make the switch ASAP!

    Happy Revit-ing.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    1,907
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Switch.
    do the tutorials.
    Do NOT start a "drop dead" project immediately.
    Be SURE a Prinicipal is exposed (trained) to Revit
    Depending on the office size, Worksets and getting an understanding could be an issue.
    Stay active at AUGI and ask questions.
    You're really gonna love it, Revit is ADT 3.3 on steroids plus brains!!

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time BillyGrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-04
    Location
    in a calm assertive state
    Posts
    638
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    The difficulties you run into are dependent on your office's main area of practice, and how large your firm is. But the main issues are typically integration of legacy data, office standards, thinking in 3d most of the time (really good, less interference errors), etc. Also, the issue of interfacing with struct./civil engineers, etc.

    Our very own J. Balding and his co-author CL Fox recently published a book
    "Introducing and Implementing Autodesk Revit" which speaks directly to many of the issue you will face within a firm when transitioning from the dwg world to the world of Revit.


    Fortunately, Revit is an Autodesk product, so these issues (in my area of practice anyway) are no
    problem, I move freely between .dwg/dxf, and Revit's native file format. (Revit 7, due out at the end of this month will also have .dgn capabilities.) But I must admit I am a small firm.

    Finally, if you are proficient in ADT, I feel you will really be able to get up to speed (intermediate level)
    in a very rapid amount of time. I am an ex-ADT guy, and once I worked through the tutorials, and got into a real project, this program was a revelation to me. All the things I couldn't do, or needed to train heavily in, to take ADT to a decent level, were practically intuitive in Revit.

    Good luck, there really is no comparison (imo) between the two proggies

  5. #5
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyGrey
    (Revit 7, due out at the end of this month will also have .dgn capabilities.)
    Just to clarify, Revit has had DGN capabilties since r1.0.
    Last edited by Scott Davis; 2004-10-15 at 12:13 AM.
    Scott D Davis
    Sr AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,497
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Skisouth recommends not to attempt a "drop dead" project. You mean like we did?

    And we're still plugging away at it.... six months later.
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    1,907
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeJarosz
    And we're still plugging away at it.... six months later.
    Do you think your delay is due to the switch to Revit, or was there other factors?

    My biggest problem on the switch was twofold - The biggest was getting my head around how to draw with Revit (throwing away that Acad mentality), then working with the family concept and trying to model everything, or what to model and what not to model.

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time J. Grouchy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Quhl Whirled
    Posts
    896
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeJarosz
    Skisouth recommends not to attempt a "drop dead" project. You mean like we did?

    And we're still plugging away at it.... six months later.
    My first project on Revit took oodles of time and caused all sorts of frustration.
    My second took half that time and I knew many 'tricks' that made CDs somewhat entertaining.
    My third took less time than the AutoCAD equivalent and allowed me time to model it and model components and play with materials and such.
    It's a steep learning curve because it is a completely different animal with an unfamiliar interface (to an ACAD user)...but now going back to work in AutoCAD, when I sometimes have to, is a drag...

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to Tom Dorner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    371
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: switching to revit

    What I tell people thinking about switching to Revit that come to our Revit Users Group meeting is: " I think you're crazy to not be using Revit, but as my competitor I'm really glad that you don't "

    Tom
    Last edited by Tom Dorner; 2004-10-14 at 11:04 PM.

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time ajayholland's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Posts
    505
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Wink Re: switching to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeJarosz
    And we're still plugging away at it.... six months later.
    Mike,

    It IS, after all, a really BIG project!

    ~AJH
    A. Jay Holland
    Former Co-Chairperson - South Coast Revit Users Group
    Independent Revit Consultant
    BIM Mentors
    ____________________________________

    Nothing Real Can Be Threatened, Nothing Unreal Exists

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: In the process of switching to Revit
    By thomas.stright in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-12-05, 04:07 PM
  2. Problems with Switching to Revit from AutoCAD?
    By tedg in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2008-09-12, 04:18 PM
  3. switching to Vista 64 - Revit activation switching
    By ws in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-06-08, 10:02 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-01-10, 07:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •