Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Sheet title on multiple lines

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    30
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Sheet title on multiple lines

    Has anyone figured out if one can create multiple lines of text for "Sheet Titles" using the "Sheet Set Manager"? I guess the same would go for "View Titles". For example, "Foundation and Ground Floor Plan" would not fit in a titleblock without breaking it up in multiple lines. It will work for "View Titles", but it would be long.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    You can place the field inside mtext and set the width. If your using 2008 or 2009 you can use multi line attributes in your blocks.
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    30
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    When I a new sheet in the SSM, I input the sheet title and number, it is all on one line. If I have a long view title, I do not understand how an attribute with multiple lines will help. How will the SSM break up the text string?

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    In 2008 they added the ability for attributes to work more like mtext. When you edit your blocks, check the properites for the attribute. You'll see the option for multiline. Then just like mtext you can set the width and the text will automatically move to the next line when it gets to long.
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    30
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    Thanks. I will give it a shot.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    30
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    It did not work. The multiple line attribute was fine; however, when using SSM the attribute has to be "Sheet Set" aware. This requires the use of a "Field" pertaining to the sheet set. Maybe I am not realizing something with the multi-line attribute. When you check "Multiple Lines" when creating the attribute, it grays' out the "Insert Field" box.

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    The insert field button changes to a button with 3 dots in it. Click that and it opens something similar to the mtext editor. There you can add the fields you need.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    30
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    Thanks Bro!!!! It worked like a champ. I have to admit that we do not use Mtext very much, because we have several custom symbols that do not show up in Mtext. Now I need to go and redefine my "View Title" Blocks.

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to Andy.88917's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Posts
    230
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    Thanks for the tip, I had made a line 1 and line 2 custom fields for the sheet title on my borders (which is a pain). This is a good option but won't work for my border unless I can figure out how to control the text width and line spacing. The text width is greyed out and there doesn't seem to be a line spacing option. Any tips there?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    30
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sheet title on multiple lines

    You do not need to make a "Custom Property" to create "Multiple lines" of text. Just create your "Attribute" like "Glenndp" indicated. Make sure you check the "Multiple Lines" box in the "Mode" options and create the attribute with the appropriate field. When you create the sheet and assign the "Title", you will have the option of adjusting the "Title" using the Mtext editor. A long line of text will be on one line until you double click it and edit it. The text will remain "Sheet Set:" aware.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sheet Title available as property/function in view title and annotations
    By Wish List System in forum Inventor Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-11-13, 02:01 PM
  2. View Title w Sheet-Ref Sheet
    By cadman6735 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-03-22, 03:15 AM
  3. View Title - Multiple Extension Lines
    By jkady in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-10-21, 03:15 PM
  4. Project title won't print on title sheet
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-03-21, 06:38 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-03-06, 05:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •