See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: NavisWorks 2010

  1. #1
    100 Club mitch.cornelius's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-05
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    171
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default NavisWorks 2010

    I found this link today. There is some information in the video (about 35 minutes into part1) with a couple of demonstrations as well as documents under "Autodesk Architecture, Engineering, Construction & Geospatial 2010 Launch Press materials."

    Things I like:
    Transparent Dimming
    View in Context clash results
    Grouping multiple clashes as a result of one issue

    What I wanted to see (maybe it will still be there):
    64-bit support
    HTML Clash report customization interface (instead of editing xsl files)

    What I didn't want to see:
    Steering Wheel/View cube...they just get in my way.

    I'd like to find out more about the new section box and align section tools, sadly there was no information about them in the webcast.

    Thoughts everyone? Have you seen this information? What were you wanting to see vs. what they are promising?



  2. #2
    NavisWorks Moderator david.kingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1,329
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    Afraid I can't say anymore until it's released, new features are good but I was hoping for a lot more.

  3. #3
    Member Mcgregage's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    40
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    I agree, i was let down in alot of areas, but there are somethings i was not expecting.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to jspartz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    361
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    I was expecting a little more for new enhancements but if they fixed most the bugs in 2009 I'll be happy. I really hope you can sort things in lists now (such as the batch list).

    Anybody hear anything on pricing? It's $10K with sub and tax right now. I wonder if it's changing.
    Jamie Spartz
    Virtual Construction Manager
    CD Smith Construction

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    N. Providence, RI
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    I really like the improvements in the Measure tool. Being able to include measurement redlines on a viewport will be a handy collaboration tool.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to Teresa.Martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    438
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    Quote Originally Posted by john.coelho View Post
    I really like the improvements in the Measure tool. Being able to include measurement redlines on a viewport will be a handy collaboration tool.
    Yes! This is great. A much needed addition.
    Teresa Martin
    Senior Application Specialist, IdeateInc

    Ideate on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/user/IdeateInc
    Ideate Solutions blogs! http://ideatesolutions.blogspot.com/

    Check out my blog: http://bimnewworld.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    40
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    I hope it is 64bit, and multicore aware. The length of my animations will be severely limited until then. It's the reason I have a overclocked 64bit core2 system with 8gb of ram - half the cpu and half the ram has been going to waste for the last year.

  8. #8
    NavisWorks Moderator david.kingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1,329
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    It's 64 bit but not multi-core

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    40
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    Thanks David, 64bit will dramatically increase the length of my movies, and more importantly, hopefully eliminate the pesky crashes that result from the 32bit ram limitation.

  10. #10
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: NavisWorks 2010

    The measure toolset is very weak compared to something like Sketchup, with its inferences and ability to measure along axes, perpendiculars, parallels, etc. I would expect the measure tools in NavisWorks to be much more robust since it is intended to be used downstream of design by Contractors, Subcontractors, and Facilities Managers. I'm new to NW, but the instructor teaching my essentials class is of the same opinion, so I'm guessing this is something that needs to be addressed. As a builder, this lack of simple functionality is enough to make me put the CD back in the box and ask for a refund. Hopefully I'm just overlooking something. Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. NavisWorks 2010
    By bobrovnikov87 in forum Русский - Управление САПР
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-10-31, 03:19 PM
  2. Navisworks 2010 Revit 2010 and DWFs
    By jason.combs in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-09-16, 12:45 PM
  3. Serious problems between Navisworks 2010 & Revit 2010
    By dramage.190144 in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-09-15, 03:11 AM
  4. Revit 2010 Doors and Windows are not cutting walls in Navisworks 2010
    By mike.massey in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-06-05, 07:30 PM
  5. Navisworks 2010
    By kyuen in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-04-02, 01:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •