Thread: Cad management across multiple manufacturing lines

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Question Cad management across multiple manufacturing lines

Hi all,

I am new to Productstream. My company are considering it for out data management needs. We are a manufacturing company using generic equipment on multiple manufacturing lines, hence we need to keep different revisions of drawings active for different manufacturing lines. Can Productstream manage this scenario?

Our drawings do not contain any xrefs or attributes, so have to be managed carefully.

I have the trial version of the software but it's not proving easy to use. The main problem is that our local reseller hasn't any experience of the product either...

For example:
    LINE 1 uses ASSY316 REV 1
    LINE 2 uses ASSY316 REV 3
    LINES 3,4,5 & 6 uses ASSY316 REV 2

In the case of Lines 3,4,5 & 6, I don't wish to create a separate drawing for each Line.

It would appear that I have 2 options (that I'm aware of):
    1) 'Assign' each Revision of ASSY316 to the appropriate Line (don't know how to do this...)
    2) Create a new drawing specific to each Line, i.e. L3-ASSY316 etc. This will vastly increase our file storage needs and it seems a primitive solution to the problem.

Any help or advice would be appreciated,
    Regards
    K

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Cad management across multiple manufacturing lines

Basically, Producstream does manage multiple revisions, but it wants to always keep the latest as the "active" revision. This isn't to say, however, that you couldn't do what you want with some creativity I don't think!

All the revisions you create are still stored in the Productstream Vault, and you can access them individually as you would need. If you need to edit them, however, you will have to make them the "current" revision, which could throw your whole process out the window.