Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cannot Select Objects in 3D View Mode

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Location
    Kearneysville, WV
    Posts
    106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Cannot Select Objects in 3D View Mode

    Hi all,
    I was working in my drawing most of the day when all of a sudden, my 3D view will not allow me to select anything. I have no clue what happened. The only way I can get it to select anything is by turning the 3D view into 2D Wiremode but then there are so many lines, it feels like I'm hallucinating. As soon as I turn the view back to any of the 3D modes (i.e. hidden, conceptual, realistic, etc.) it happens again. I can't even get the selection box to come up. What have I done? Please help.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,197
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Cannot Select Objects in 3D View Mode

    Quote Originally Posted by kane333 View Post
    Hi all,
    I was working in my drawing most of the day when all of a sudden, my 3D view will not allow me to select anything. I have no clue what happened. The only way I can get it to select anything is by turning the 3D view into 2D Wiremode but then there are so many lines, it feels like I'm hallucinating. As soon as I turn the view back to any of the 3D modes (i.e. hidden, conceptual, realistic, etc.) it happens again. I can't even get the selection box to come up. What have I done? Please help.
    maybe it is in perspective mode, I'm not sure how to remedy the situation, I dont work in 3D, but I heard that this is possible. Maybe someone else who works in 3D can assist you in getting your drawing out of perspective mode, if that is the problem.
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    Autodesk Expert Elite
    AEC Collection Civil 3D 2020
    Windows 10

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Cannot Select Objects in 3D View Mode

    I thought it was perspective view but I checked and that is no longer a factor in A2009 (maybe from A2007 onward ?).
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Posts
    2,356
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Cannot Select Objects in 3D View Mode

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill View Post
    maybe it is in perspective mode, I'm not sure how to remedy the situation, I dont work in 3D, but I heard that this is possible. Maybe someone else who works in 3D can assist you in getting your drawing out of perspective mode, if that is the problem.
    You can just right click, select zoom, right click again and then pick parallel or perspective.

    But you should still be able to select objects when in perspective (I think) so I'm not sure if that is the issue.

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Location
    Kearneysville, WV
    Posts
    106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Cannot Select Objects in 3D View Mode

    I use Constrained Orbit and when I right click while in Constrained Orbit, it gives me a pop-up menu with a few choices. Parallel is my preferred choice over Perspective in that the Perspective View is quite slow while trying to pan, zoom and orbit. I've figured out the problem and fixed it earlier this morning when I got in to work. It seems there was a bad "fitting" that was placed on the drawing. While double clicking in the Iso View viewport, I found that the bad entity was on the DCW (Domestic Cold Water) Layer. So I isolated the layer and started erasing pipe until I found the culprit. Everything works fine now and thank you for your input.

Similar Threads

  1. FDO object select, snapping, and editing in 3D view mode
    By andreijj250504 in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-08-16, 06:16 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-01-05, 09:13 PM
  3. Select Objects in Isometric Mode
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-11-27, 05:55 PM
  4. How to select 2 points with ortho mode ON or OFF
    By mengseng in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2006-08-02, 01:16 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-06-14, 06:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •