Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Room Names vs. Space Names

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict matt__w's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-06
    Location
    North Central CT
    Posts
    1,108
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Room Names vs. Space Names

    From what I've seen on the 'net and in multiple discussion groups, it looks like the workflow for adding the room names from a linked architectural file is to add SPACES and then modify the space tag to show room name/number? Is this correct? Or can the actual ROOMS within the linked model be accessed? I've got ROOM BOUNDING toggled on. Anyone?

    Thanks in advance!
    Matt W

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names vs. Space Names

    Download the Space Naming Utility from Autodesk and you will not have to worry about matching space name with room name.

    My worklfow would be add all the spaces per floor plan and then after you have all of them on the sheet run the space naming utility, which will match the associated room name and number. You can always go back and run the space naming utility again if you missed a space.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict matt__w's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-06
    Location
    North Central CT
    Posts
    1,108
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names vs. Space Names

    Okay... looks like that might help to speed things up.

    Another quick question.. Is there a way to have the space tag display when spaces are turned off? It appears that the display of the space tag is linked to the display of the space itself. I'm just trying to avoid having users accidentally select the space and also to help ease any frustrations that may arise from accidentally selecting it.

    Thanks again.

    Matt

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time mwiggins121466's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    576
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names vs. Space Names

    You can't have the spaces turned off and see the tag. You could duplicate the view (call it a working view) and use the arch link to link an arch view that has the room names on it to your view then you can turn off your spaces/tags.
    Margaret Wiggins
    Revit MEP 2006 and Greater
    Electrical Designer
    Detroit, Michigan
    wigginsm@yahoo.com

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict matt__w's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-06
    Location
    North Central CT
    Posts
    1,108
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names vs. Space Names

    That's what I figured. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Revit 2012 can you Delete Unused Room Names & Department Names
    By billy007nh in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2016-11-04, 06:34 PM
  2. Replies: 36
    Last Post: 2016-10-30, 10:53 PM
  3. Space Names
    By Sparky in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-05-16, 03:30 PM
  4. Space Names Issue
    By nickd.204205 in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-06-02, 07:52 PM
  5. Help: Convert Space names to Room Names??
    By stykface in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-06-30, 02:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •