Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: burst vs explode

  1. #1
    Member SCR73's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Never far from a cup of tea.
    Posts
    37
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default burst vs explode

    What exactly is the difference between "burst" and "explode"?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Chesterfield, MI
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: burst vs explode

    Burst respects the layer that the block was inserted on and it will keep the exploded entities on that layer (does not revert to the layer that the items are on in the block itself).

    It also allows you to explode an attributed block without losing any of the entered attribute text (does not revert to default).

    There may be more differences, but these are the only two items that I have noticed or utilized.

  3. #3
    Member SCR73's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Never far from a cup of tea.
    Posts
    37
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: burst vs explode

    That sounds quite useful! I try to avoid exploding anything unless I have no choice but it sounds like burst would be better on the occasions when I need it.

    So does Explode have ANY advantages over Burst at all?

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: burst vs explode

    Yes, if you want the included objects to return to their original states - like when redefining the block.
    Mainly though, Burst was written (much later) to overcome the shortcomings of Explode.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Chesterfield, MI
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: burst vs explode

    I don't think that I've used Explode since Burst came into being.

    I really can't think of any advantage that Explode would have except that it is part of the core AutoCAD install and Burst is only available in the Express Tools.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Chesterfield, MI
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: burst vs explode

    I don't think that I've redefined a block manually since Bedit came about.

    That's part of the reason why I couldn't think of a benefit to Explode.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: burst vs explode

    Exploding does have its advantages.

    Exploding will allow you to break an object down to its simplest form. When you receive drawings from other people and they have placed and object into block format and you use the burst command it will not allow you to purge out the “non-standard” layers in your drawings. Also a lot of time you will get items that have nested blocks that will have to be exploded (many times) and purged (many times) to get the drawing to a workable state.

    Does that answer your question?

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to Andy.88917's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Posts
    230
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: burst vs explode

    Explode will also convert a multi-part polyline into line segments which is useful sometimes.

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict Augi Doggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    Orlando, FL.
    Posts
    1,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: burst vs explode

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy.88917 View Post
    Explode will also convert a multi-part polyline into line segments which is useful sometimes.
    Although I strongly discourage doing either of these, explode will break mtext into separate lines of text and it can break dimensions into individual lines and text.

    But you shouldn't do it, ever.
    Still trying to find out "Who is a good boy?"

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict Railrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    1,181
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: burst vs explode

    Quote Originally Posted by Augi Doggie View Post
    Although I strongly discourage doing either of these, explode will break mtext into separate lines of text and it can break dimensions into individual lines and text.

    But you shouldn't do it, ever.
    We've been given a TB by corp where everything is anchored in one spot. Nothing is movable. Wouldn't be a problem, except I have to use it on image files that were made for a different TB. How can I keep from having the legal disclaimer from being in the way of part of the image, without using burst to move that text?

    Recreating the TB with it in a different location isn't an option because we use image files from different vendors, & there is no single spot we can use without it being in the way on some drawings.
    Give people a job worth doing, the tools to do it, recognition of a job well done & get out of the way.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Convert Explode command to Burst command?
    By stusic in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 2013-06-18, 11:55 PM
  2. 2008: Possible to Explode/Burst Blocks and Maintain Xclips?
    By ReachAndre in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-09, 01:01 PM
  3. 2012: burst, explode attributes to text
    By thoff in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-05-24, 09:01 PM
  4. use BURST instead of EXPLODE
    By ceekayem in forum AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 2006-01-20, 05:21 PM
  5. Using BURST instead of EXPLODE
    By ryan.87191 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-09-12, 09:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •