See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Disabling Help

  1. #1
    100 Club jhohman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Posts
    195
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Disabling Help

    Ironically, I need help disabling 'HELP' in ACAD. I am a typer more than a button presser so I commonly hit ESC but sometimes my fingers want to be fatter than they should be and I accidentally hit F1 and the help pops up. Couldn't I simply remove the help file support path or will that cause errors because ACAD knows to look for something either way when the F1 key is pressed? Thanks you in advance for your assistance.

  2. #2
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disabling Help

    I think you could probably redefine your F1 key, but I don't know how to do that. Although, I am not sure if that is possible, because F1 is not only AutoCADs help, but Windows help as well, and it seems to me that you can't redefine keys that are windows accelerators as well (such as CTRL ALT DELETE)

    check under accelerators in the help file (you know, the one you don't need )

    BTW, the same thing happens to me alot when I hit escape, but I have found that once it is open, the only thing it does is blink in my taskbar, it doesn't come to the front (using 2004)

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Disabling Help

    Check out this site.
    Redefine AutoCAD's F1 Key

  4. #4
    100 Club jhohman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Posts
    195
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Disabling Help

    Saweeeet!!

    That was it! I really appreciate it, you have just added about 10 years to my life, since the frustration I would have to go through would kill me if I didn't find a solution! Thank you.

  5. #5
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Disabling Help

    Hi

    Check out the following snippet from Ed Jobe (from an old CADMgr Guild post) -

    <snip>
    I came to the same conclusion, except that I though it would be good to provide some feedback. I came up with this function in the acad.lsp file.

    ;;;used to remap the F1 key
    Code:
    (defun NoHelp () 
     (setvar "nomutt" 1)
     (princ "You hit the F1 key.")
     (setvar "nomutt" 0)
     (princ)
    )
    Then, the F1 macro becomes:

    ["F1"]^C^C(NoHelp)

    Here is what you get:

    Command: *Cancel*
    Command: *Cancel*
    Command: (NoHelp) You hit the F1 key.
    </snip>

    Have a good one, Mike

  6. #6
    100 Club jhohman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Posts
    195
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Re: Disabling Help

    Thank you for the additional information Mike!

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Disabling Autodesk 360 pop up
    By ch0mpion in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2013-05-29, 06:28 PM
  2. Disabling 'F1' for help...
    By hand471037 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-09-27, 05:40 PM
  3. Disabling Help (F1)
    By jhohman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-04-01, 04:31 PM
  4. Disabling CAD Commands
    By mrha1380 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-11-29, 07:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •